Skip to content

Me, Worry?

February 5, 2010

Today I feel like singing and dancing!  I don’t think my co-workers would appreciate it nor would my self-esteem (I’m pretty bad at doing both).  My heart is skipping a few beats and I’m a happy clam!  Call me a Health Geek, but I just got my Lipid Panel results back and I have rock solid proof that Primal living is working for me!  No more worries for this guy – I have discovered the Fountain of Youth and it’s not as far away as you might think.

First, here are my results (OOPS!  After I originally posted this table, I realized I input the wrong blood pressure.  It should be 119/79; not 140/79):

OK, so what do these numbers mean?

Total Cholesterol measures all the cholesterol in your body.  Bear in mind your body needs cholesterol for many functions and if it doesn’t get enough, it can produce its own.  Although I was slightly above “Recommended” levels, the nurse explained this was because my HDL’s were so high.
HDL Cholesterol refers to the good cholesterol which helps keep your arteries clog free (the nurse/technician was impressed with this number for me)
TC/HDL Ratio refers to exactly that - a ratio of total cholesterol to good cholesterol – the lower the better
LDL – refers to the low-density lipoproteins or bad cholesterol ; too much can build up plaque on our artery walls making them less flexible and narrow.  No bueno.  (The device used to measure LDL couldn’t pick up a significant enough number to register)
Triglycerides – are the form fat takes as it travels to the body’s tissues via the bloodstream.  A high carb diet gives a higher number.  (More impressive comments from the nurse/tech)
Blood Glucose – the amount of glucose in the blood; the more you exercise the lower this number goes (I’m struck why this came out higher than recommended considering the other numbers were so good – still researching this one…)
BMI – Body Mass Index indicates a correlation between you weight and height.  It’s not foolproof since an individual with a lot of muscle mass could actually have a high BMI, but its widely accepted in the Conventional Widsom world (doesn’t make it right, but it just is)

Blood Pressure checked in at 119/79, so that is still doing well for me since last time it was 120/80.  Six months ago it was 140/90 if that tells you anything.

THE THANK-YOU DEPARTMENT
Again, call me a Health Geek or what have you, but as you get to 40 and beyond, health becomes very important to you.  Even more so when you have kids at a late age like I did.  My goal all along with my exercise and health has been to enable me to be around for them as long as I can.  My changed habits are paying off and credit deserves to be distributed to the following:
P90X/Tony Horton/BeachBody – I need to thank you for getting me back in to working out/resistance training and starting me back on the road to healthier eating.  Kudos for a great program!
Mark Sisson, author of Primal Blueprint and the MarksDailyApple.com community – The incredible amount of knowledge and success I have picked up from these areas of Mark’s have been nothing short of a Godsend to me.  I have closely followed the suggestions he has provided and the evidence speaks for itself.
Thanks to these great resources and a strong WHY, I aim to achieve my goal and will be around this world a little longer.

What’s stopping you from enjoying a success in health?  My great news is nothing special to many others because it can easily be had with a sensible diet and workout program.  Today is the day to start.  Get going!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:17 am

    Jeff, this is GREAT news, and great evidence that the primal life does work! Thanks for sharing, super inspiring. Now I’m going to go run some sprints in our 24 inch snow downfall that’s supposed to be happening today. Cheers!

    • February 5, 2010 9:21 am

      I’m envious – I need to get some sprints in! Care to share your sprint workout routine? I’m always anxious to hear the variations folks use.

  2. February 5, 2010 5:12 pm

    Very cool. I’m still learning about the whole lipid panel thing. I should see if I can get that done – take a look at where I’m at.

    I dig the blog Jeff… keep it up.

  3. Dave permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:18 pm

    Did you happen to work out before the test? Apparently that can cause a rise in blood glucose. I think I heard Robb Wolf say this in one of his excellent Paleolithic Solution podcasts, but a quick google brought up this:

    http://www.restoreunity.org/understanding_blood_sugar_spikes_exercise.htm

    Congrats on the great results!

    • February 7, 2010 9:35 pm

      I worked out tough the NIGHT BEFORE, but not the day of. Because I’ve been low carb (under 100 grams), I’m wondering if some gluconeogenesis occurred to cause that “spike”

  4. Christian permalink
    February 8, 2010 9:07 am

    Great job!

  5. February 8, 2010 10:37 am

    Way to go! Adding your blog to my blogroll. Cheers,dan

  6. petervermont permalink
    February 9, 2010 1:23 pm

    Triglycerides / HDL is considered to be a very good predictor of cardiac risk — the lower the better and yours is terrific. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,019 other followers

