Skip to content

Life Doesn’t Have to End at 40

April 5, 2008

This is the first post of what I hope to be many – simply about trying to make life better.  In the past week I did a quick personal analysis of myself – at least my physical self – and I didn’t like what I saw.  Many years ago I did the same thing after my grandfather died of heart disease and diabetes.  It inspired me to lose my needed weight and I ended up with quite a bit of success.  But life has a funny way of providing you many things to focus on.  So eventually my life shifted to other things, I lost my healthy habits and now I’m 30-33% bodyfat and have the spare tire to show it.  I don’t want to talk about weight because my weight is not the issue at hand.  It’s improving oneself while realizing a vital piece:  never give up or believe your better years are behind you.

I started late in life.  I was single until 35, focusing on my career and moving around a lo during the process.  Now I’m 40, I have 2 little girls of my own and 4 more from my wife’s previous marriage.  As my blood pressure increased with my weight and I began to visualize dying at a young age in front of my little people, it crushed me.  I want to be there at their graduation, their marriage and be able to be a grandfather someday.  And I WILL make that happen.

This blog is for me, but I would like to think it is for many others who need a little help, a little inspiration, or a little guidance.  I’m not the perfect husband, father or take your pick.  But I’ve learned a few tricks along the way that I hope to share with you and that you can share with me.  

Keep the faith – life has only just begun – even if you’re 40!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 4:26 pm

    Perspective and motivation changes when you have reasons to live for, like your children…I have 5 children and my thoughts and actions are all motivated by the fact that I want them to live a good life and that I want to be there to witness this transformation.

Leave a Reply

