Skip to content

Finding Freedom in Running

April 8, 2008

As I wrote yesterday, my weight loss program was interrupted by a broke scale that ended up simply being a case of water weight fluctuating.  This morning I found that to indeed be the case.  I was down a full pound from yesterday, so if you want more info, check out yesterday’s post.

Today I was able to finally run outside.  I live in South Dakota where the snow never full thaws until May, June or July.  So in the meantime, for the past week I’ve been using a worn out treadmill that my in-laws picked up at a garage sale.  It does the job, but it’s more fun being outside.

So there I was, on the road to recovery and I decided to attempt 2 miles today.  I know that’s not much for many readers.  It’s not much for me either considering I ran the Chicago Marathon back in 1998.  But 10 years puts a toll on this body and I was happy to think I could run 2 miles.  I loaded up my iPod, my favorite running hat and I headed out.  

Wearing “dry-fit” shirts is a great luxury when you run.  If you wear cotton, the sweat just gets trapped and can chafe your skin.  In my former running career I actually ended up with bleeding nipples from wearing the wrong shirt on a run.  I know, too much information…  I’m just trying to help a brother or sister out, so take it from me – wear moisture wicking tops.  Today was 27 degrees, so I also put on a fleece pull-over.  Another great secret is that fleece is a moisture wicking material.  So, your sweat passes through the dry fit clothing, through the fleece, collects on the outside and either evaporates or freezes into small ice pieces.  Luckily today, it was just warm enough to evaporate and I could concentrate on my running and tunes.

Yes, I did have to stop a few times.  The old ticker isn’t what it used to be.  But I did finish just under the 12 minutes/mile mark.  I know, lots of room to improve – but I found solace in the fact that I saw no other runners outside at 5:30 AM this morning.  And freedom.

What is your favorite time to run? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. KimBot. permalink
    April 11, 2008 5:20 pm

    Favorite time to run… for me, it varies.. sometimes like you the solitude of an early AM run is so refreshing – but I’d have to say, if I needed to pick a favorite, when its about 30 degrees, no real wind, and snowing would definately be one of them – another is when its nasty hot outside and a storm cloud moves thru… not thunder and lightening, just a nice cool rain…

Leave a Reply

