Skip to content

Nike Does It Again

April 29, 2008

OK, I admit it.  I’m a guy and I love toys.  My wife gives me a hard time quite often because I have purchased a toy or two.  Now, I’m not the handiest of gents, so most of my toys are not in the garage.  No, they are in the entertainment room!

I love my Mac.  I love my iPods (yes, as a family we have 5 total).  And I love the MacBook Pro that my organization was kind enough to purchase for me to use.  OK, there are more I could name, but you get the idea.  And now a new toy has surfaced – and as luck would have it, I’ve uncovered it before it has hit the store shelves (at least in South Dakota and anywhere online at this point).  

It’s the Nike+ Sportband.  It’s predecessor was hooked up to your iPod Nano, but this version allows you to use it with a watch device.  It’s 2 pieces – one goes into your shoe (if you have Nike+ shoes).  I’ve learned that they already make pouches t

hat you can use for non-Nike shoes and it works just as well.  The 2nd piece is the wristband which can tell you the time, distance, pace, and calories burned.  Once you are done with your run, the watch device unlinks and with its hidden USB piece, you can then place it into a port and the information from your run is instantly uploaded to Nike’s Nikeplus.com site where it logs your runs and allows you to join their social networking/running site.

I love this device and I don’t even own it – yet.  If you have one, I’d love to hear your comments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

