Skip to content

How to Feel GREAT!

May 19, 2008

Sorry for the cliche of a title, but it certainly would apply to me in the last few days.  What can I say?  Working out, eating right, running AND the simple truth in knowing that I’m doing the right things for my body have me on a terrific high these days.  Is it explainable – sure.  Work out, eat right and taking up running.  Then you’ll understand!

As I’ve done in the last few posts, here is my 4 mile run, graphically represented through Nike’s site and their Nike+ technology.  Granted, my Sportband could use some more work and it is certainly not without a few flaws including losing its signal from time to time.  BUT, it has motivated me to keep running and to run faster.  To know in an instant where I am during a run helps me to further understand my body and to know my pace.  Even though my miles are longer and my pace is faster than shown, it will only make me stronger in an actual race, so I’m content on that fact for now.

This morning I had a great upper body workout that challenged my muscles to their max – literally.  I exhausted those muscles to near fatigue and accomplished a few new highs.  The weight continues to drop at a nice easy rate and the ongoing progress I see only fuels my desires that much further.

My recent running journey has brought me great peace as of late.  In fact, although I have not run a 5K this year (yet), I have already made a mental commitment to do the Sioux Falls Half Marathon.  I did this race when I first moved to Sioux Falls back in 1998(?).  I see the race as a goal but as a tribute to my new found commitment to get my butt off the couch. 

So, back to the title – how can YOU feel great?  It starts with some sort of internal motivation or realization that your life is missing something.  And you feel a craving to get your life back.  When that idea or thought starts sinking in – go with it.  Don’t doubt yourself.  ACT!  Begin to dream of where you can go and how you can get there.  Realize that hard work does pay off.  Self-doubt will enter the picture, and that’s OK.  It’s WHEN you conquer that self-doubt, when you see results, when you notice the belt getting larger on you – that is when it all becomes worth it.  But it doesn’t end there.  It’s then that you see someone who is no longer complacent and wants more.  It’s yours for the taking and it’s then that you realize – “I FEEL GREAT!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

