Skip to content

Looking Forward, Looking Backward

June 18, 2008

I’m a firm believer in always maintaining a focus on the future.  I’m also a firm believer in reflecting on your accomplishments as well.  I don’t think looking backward should ever include dwelling on past mistakes.  Sure we’ve all made our share of mistakes – but don’t we already know that?  Humans have a tendency to beat themselves up and we bring our childhood mistakes and misfortunes into our adult lives.  Then we seek counselling!

I’m at a point today where I’m looking forward while looking backward.  This week is full of many reasons to celebrate.  I’m completing my 12th week of exercise and eating healthy.  Next week I’ll take a break from working out to allow my body to recover fully before starting with a new 12 week program.  On Saturday I’ll be running in my first 5K in over 10 years.  And today was my first day of training for a Half Marathon I’ll be running in September.

I look back and I get the opportunity to realize how far I’ve come.  I’m 40 years old and living a new life.  I went from barely running one mile to the capability of running 7 miles (and I know I’m capable of running much further).  I’ve lost 30 lbs. as of today.  My bodyfat has decreased from over 30% to under 20%.  I’m stronger and I’ve lost 2 inches off my waist.  I can look back and I’ve certainly earned the right to do so.  Did I eat perfectly?  No.  Did I work out perfectly?  No.  Do I have room to get better?  Of course.  

Enough about me.  This blog is meant for all of you, whether 40 or not, who need the encouragement and proof that dreams can still be realized at whatever age you are.  I would love to hear any concerns or questions anyone might have about getting started, obstacles that seem to get in the way, etc.  Solutions exist; but sometimes you just have to ask.  Hope is alive and well.

Have hope.  Be well.

Above is a cool new tool I came across- it’s called Wordle.  Check it out for some new fun if you blog or write much.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

