Skip to content

Long Runs are Important

April 14, 2009

Long runs are an important part of your training, just like going home once in a while to recharge your batteries. Long runs allow you to run at a more comfortable pace and allow you to build up your stamina. And – don’t forget about those bragging rights! Just remember, unlike me, that on those long runs – pace yourself! Don’t go out too quickly or you’ll hurt on the back end as I did on this day. 🙂

If you’ve never been introduced to the MKT Trail – here you go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 12:29 am

    Your twitter profile led me to your blog and I can relate, life is not over at 40! That’s when I started to run. I was 39 then (55 now) since then I have completed multiple 5k and 10k runs, several local (Seattle) half marathons, three full marathons and two triathlons. All said I now love running and miss it terrible when I don’t. Last year I slipped a disk in my back which took that option out for a while (and put on horrible pounds) but I have just started back on the trails so would love to follow you on your journey for inspiration. Is it sad when a long run sounds yummy! I’ll check back to see how it is all working out. Do you have a goal at all, a certain run?

    • April 17, 2009 1:34 am

      Hey Jan!
      Thanks for following me on Twitter as well as here on my blog. Congrats on all the runs and persistence – that is awesome! I have completed one marathon and have vowed to seek revenge at my slow time that I posted. I was out of running for a few years but am devoted to continuing this journey to see where it takes me. My goal this year is a marathon, although I’m not sure which one just yet. Perhaps Kansas City or perhaps Twin Cities or perhaps Chicago. You’ll have to stay tuned to find out! How’s that for a cliff hanger?

Leave a Reply

