Skip to content

What’s Your Mantra?

May 5, 2009

There are many things in life that our mind convinces us that are unattainable. Often times we are at fault. For whatever reason, we limit ourselves by how we think.  Now, there IS something to be said for physical limits. Even baseball players as of late know their limits and unfortunately turn to steroids to get past it. Let’s not go down that road! Instead, turn to the power of the mind.

POWER OF THE MIND

Ever the student of the power of the mind I purchased a book over the weekend called Running Within. I am about 20% through the book but am always happy to read about visualization, motivation, etc.  I applied that motivation to today, in part. For the first time in 10 years, I ran 10 miles. Now, I say that I was motivated in part because I believe my mind is still in the process of believing it can run 10 miles. Even though I have run many hundreds of miles, I am retraining my body. Also, I am retraining my mind.  I’m not here to tell you I am without flaws.  That is part of this journey.  I recognize what I need to work on and I am OK with throwing it out there because I’m human just like you.  But I’m convinced I will retrain my mind.  And you can, too.

WHAT’S YOUR MANTRA?

A mantra is a repeatable phrase that has special importance to you.  It should be uplifting, perhaps poetic, perhaps rhythmic.  When you say it, the mantra should recharge you and assist you on your run.  It should be comforting, perhaps challenging, but definitely it should be motivating.  I created a new quote/mantra for myself over the weekend that I’d like to share:  “Not if.  When.”
Pretty simple, huh?  It may not mean anything to you, but here is how I see it.  Many times in life we are limited with a few words or phrases.  They include, “I’ll try,” or “If I have time…”  If is an overly used word.  We use it all the time for excuses to be made.  So, for me, I am not allowing that excuse.  I’m not allowing my body to make that excuse.  It’s not if I will run today.  It’s not if I will succeed today.  No, it’s when.  Hopefully you can find a great mantra or feel free to use mine.
What is your mantra?  Please share as many as you have in the comments section.  But above all – create a goal and start running!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 4:11 pm

    Hey man! Hope you had that sesame chicken cause you earned it! Good run! I really like the video format. Way cool!

Leave a Reply

