Skip to content

You Know It’s Too Hot When…

May 18, 2009

ishot-1In an unexpected way, my humility was measured once again as a runner.  Today my plan was to run 12 miles, my furthest distance yet towards my training.  I carboloaded up last night and a little today, ran through my mental checklist (or so I thought), knew the weather would be a little warm, but overlooked this aspect basically because it was the only time that made sense for me to run.  I thought I was set for success.  Mother Nature had other things in store for me.

As I approached the trail I would be running on, I took a few hits off my Powerade.  Upon arrival, I strapped on my new water bottle belt, turned on my iPod and started off.  The legs were a little sore but that cleared up after a 1/2 mile.  One thing didn’t clear up however and that was the heat.  After a little less than a mile, I felt parched.  Uh oh…

Mistakes Noted

I cleared my head as best I could and felt the coolness of the shade, but it would not be enough.  After 3 miles or so, I had to stop to catch my breath.  Mistakes #1-3 noted – not only was it too hot for me with proper adjustment, I was not hydrated enough and worst of all, I was running too quickly at the onset.  So, you can probably guess what happened next.  I attempted to keep some sort of pace, but my body got a little tingly (in a bad way) and after 5 miles I pulled back and decided to call it a day.

Am I upset?  Sure I am.  Could I have done anything differently?  Sure I could.  Will I beat myself up on this?  Sure I will.  But if there is one thing that you can learn from making mistakes it is this – make a few mistakes because it is OK to take a few risks.  That is how we learn.  But, when we make mistakes, do this one tip:  Make mistakes fast.  In other words, make the mistake, dwell shortly on it, and then move on.  Dwelling on the mistake is simply not needed.  The lessons should be learned.1660111538_5b0c171fb8

Lessons Learned

So, what did I learn?  Well, I need to focus more on being properly hydrated.  I must drink more water.  In addition, I need to plan my runs better, avoiding those warmer times if possible.  If nothing else, I need to wake up earlier and avoid those hot temperatures.  Living in South Dakota, I think the last time it was 86 degrees was back in September!  And most of all in putting it all together, focus on the task at hand a few days in advance to set yourself up for success.  Remember, in whatever you do, you are not a failure.  You simply failed at THAT event.  There IS always next time!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 2:01 am

    Hey Jeff! I’m so sorry about your run. I know it’s disappointing when things don’t go as planned, but you have the right attitude. Don’t dwell on it, jut learn from in. Not sure if you read this post I did in April or not, but in case you haven’t it on hydration. Thought you might like to check it out. Here’s the link. http://ncrunnerdude.blogspot.com/2009/04/good-good-good-good-hydration.html

    • May 19, 2009 3:14 pm

      Thad:
      Thanks for the link on your blog about hydration. I could have used that prior to yesterday!

  2. May 19, 2009 2:51 pm

    I agree. After just barely missing a goal in a race last weekend, I felt bad, down, and beat. (It was also a difficult race.) But anyway, I realize it is all good.

    • May 19, 2009 3:13 pm

      After I posted this blog, I videotaped myself discussing why I didn’t hit my goals. My fire burned still within – and even though I did not turn in the pace I would have liked on a long run (when do i ever?), I did go out this morning and I did complete my 12 mile run. It wasn’t ego that made me do it. I would call it accountability and also would call it determination. Make mistakes fast! Then move on. I’m sure when your next opportunity arises you will have learned what went wrong and tackle it differently. Thanks for commenting!

  3. June 3, 2009 10:31 am

    Yuppers. Been there, done did that! I just posted about how I missed out on my 22 (Grandma’s training) on Sunday. I ran about 9 before the dehydration monster broke me. I wonder how many other MN peeps did the same thing? Another runner told me that it heated up about 20 degrees from when he stepped outside. I just can’t believe I’ve lived here my whole life and I got shnookered by the weather like that! Yes, lesson learned!

    • June 3, 2009 11:40 am

      I’m gambling on the weather today myself. Feel like running with sunlight instead of moonlight today so I’m gonna roll the dice and run tonight. Are you planning to make up the 22?

Leave a Reply

