Skip to content

You Know You’re a Runner When….

May 28, 2009

From time to time it’s fun to reflect and notice how much you have accepted in your quest to be a runner.  This is particularly true when friends or family from out of town arrive to question your sanity as a runner by the noticeable items or habits you’ve acquired in the process to be the next best marathon runner.  So for that and many other reasons it is time to ponder this topic…

YOU KNOW YOU’RE A RUNNER WHEN…

  1. ….you see people jogging as you drive to work and you want to run with them.ishot-1
  2. ….Runner’s World magazines are scattered throughout the house and they are also your home page.
  3. ….your bedroom smells like smelly socks.
  4. ….you have more pairs of running shoes than you pairs of underwear.
  5. ….you can confirm to co-workers that “Chafed Nipples” are not a punk group but a condition you acquired on your last run.
  6. ….your favorite comedians are the Running Superfans.
  7. ….the Victoria’s Secret catalog is replaced by the latest Road Runner Sports catalog.
  8. ….your bathroom smells like smelly socks.
  9. ….hearing the theme to “Rocky” instinctually makes you do whatever you’re doing faster.
  10. ….you smile to your friends when they ask how far you went that day and you say, “Just five.”
  11. ….you know a negative split is actually a very positive thing.
  12. ….the alarm clock goes off at 5 AM and instead of hitting the snooze…you smile…and reach for your shoes.
  13. ….your kitchen smells like smelly socks.
  14. ….your cabinets are filled with 14 types of pasta and an assortment of Ragu, Prego and Newman’s Sockarooni.
  15. ….your body gets the twitches if you missed your morning run and is only subsided by an evening run.
  16. ….your car smells like smelly socks.

OK, I’m gonna end it there and leave the rest to all of you.  Shoot me your best reasons why you know you’re a runner in the comments section and let’s see how many we can get!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. ahanu permalink
    May 29, 2009 5:53 am

    hey there,

    here are a couple that i thought of just now.

    … you know where your heart rate monitor is but have to hunt for your house keys

    … you spend all free time on your “off” day reading running blogs and magazines

    … your running shoes are the only thing next to your front door

    … you start to wear gear normally reserved for running in everyday life e.g. “it’s a little windy out today, i think i’ll wear my arm warmers”

    … you can’t wait to tack miles onto your shoes so that you can buy new kicks at the running store and oogle gear (maybe buy some too!)

    … you haven’t balanced your checkbook in years but your running log reads like exacting and pithy, pristine prose

    • May 29, 2009 10:45 am

      These are great! I love the one about the checkbook. How true!

      • ahanu permalink
        May 29, 2009 3:44 pm

        Thanks! Your posts are always a joy to read/watch. It’s fun to think about the various quirks that we develop as runners. 🙂

      • May 29, 2009 4:38 pm

        WHAT?! We have quirks!? Are you kidding me? Yeah…I suppose we have a few. The anal rituals some of us have would probably make for a great book!

      • ahanu permalink
        June 2, 2009 10:50 pm

        Did I say quirks? I meant endearing qualities and traits… 🙂

      • June 3, 2009 1:56 am

        Ah, let’s be honest – we have quirks – at least I do!

  2. June 2, 2009 10:43 am

    Hey man! Sounds like you need some odor-eaters for those shoes! LOL! Great post!

  3. kathleen permalink
    June 3, 2009 12:42 am

    Your running clothes have their own drawer!

    • June 3, 2009 1:55 am

      I love that one! And, if you’re like me – I hang up my technical shirts on hangers… (did I just admit that?)

  4. June 3, 2009 10:21 am

    I have a drawer just for my running clothes, but it took a LONG time before I would admit that I needed one. You should do a post about “runner’s denial”. It’s something that I been inflicted with for years (gulp), YEARS! I’ve been a “runner” (notice the scare quotes) for about 11 years and I STILL have trouble telling people, “Oh, yeah, I’m a runner!”. I think I will always feel like a running poseur.

  5. June 4, 2009 5:14 pm

    I love that Newman’s Sockarooni – the best prepared pasta sauce on the market!

    • June 4, 2009 5:30 pm

      I totally agree! What pasta types do you prefer other than traditional spaghetti?

  6. Beth permalink
    June 4, 2009 5:32 pm

    You know you’re a runner…
    You’re more excited about new running routes on vacation than doing the tourist thing.
    You’re more concerned about your running gear being packed than bringing “going out” clothes.

    • June 4, 2009 5:44 pm

      So true Beth! I buy more running clothes, etc. than regular clothes these days!

Leave a Reply

