Skip to content

P90X – Time to Bring It!

September 24, 2009

Its time!

After lifting, twisting, stretching, hitting, kicking, eating and sweating for the past 3 1/2 weeks, I’m finally ready to start blogging about my new journeys into P90X.  Wow!  What a rush it has been!  From the first week of getting my butt kicked in eight different directions to continued successes in reps and weights achieved, my first four weeks are almost to an end and I’m about ready to start the next phase.

P90X is a 90 program designed to change the way you look, eat and feel.  It’s a fairly comprehensive program that guides you on a nutritional make-over so that you can eliminate the crap from your diet and provide your body the fuel it needs to begin anew.  The 12 DVD’s that accompany the nutrition guide are informative, fun, motivational and inspiring (one of the “models” who helps show the movements has only one leg which leaves you with no excuse to push through.)  I have been involved with working out for several years and while P90X has a few minor flaws, it really does a great job of hitting the basic issues and speaking the truth.

Is it really extreme?  Well, if you have never exercised before, I would not recommend this program to you.  Yes, it’s that extreme.  If you’ve exercised before, that’s great.  But be prepared.  The exercises in P90X are varied, challenging and hit the body in ways I’d never felt them before.  My first week, literally all 7 days, I was sore.  But it felt so good, ya know?  Even if you’ve lifted weights recently and are in good cardiovascular shape, you will still feel a new sensation.

The variety of workouts are well put together.  You do resistance training – using either your own body weight, resistance bands, or Tony-Horton-Picture-701865dumbbells.  You do cardio throughout.  You do yoga.  Yes, I said yoga!  And, if you think that is easy, then you must’ve never been to yoga class (like me).  I totally underestimated it!  You do Kenpo, a combination of boxing, kicking and kickboxing.  It’s a cousin of Tae-Bo actually!  And you work your core muscles, something I was desperately hoping this would cover.  And it does.

All in all, P90X is addicting, amazing, exciting and FUN.  With each DVD you meet a new set of folks who help the host, Tony Horton, burn through these challenging workouts.  One of the helpers is Dreya Weber.  My research on her found that she is an aerialist and has worked with several pop musicians in their concert productions; folks like Madonna, Cher, Britney Spears and many others.  So if Dreya signs off on P90X and maintains the body she has, I figure this is more than a legit program.  Tony, in the picture to the right, is not only the host, but actively participates in the videos and is the Push Up King.  Not bad for a guy who is in his early 50’s.  Look at him – the dude is ripped and keeps talking while the rest of us doing the moves are panting and crying for our mothers!

At the end of the day, I think P90X is doing exactly what I was hoping it would do for me.  It is allowing me to do something as my stress fracture heals AND it is going to help build up my core so that when I do return to running I will be stronger than ever.  Life isn’t over.  It just gets better!

Now that I’ve adjusted to this new workout program, I hope to be blogging more frequently to assist those who are either curious about P90X, want to know more or who would like some tips on how to make it more friendly to them.  I also hope to post some video of my own workouts so I can show the fancy moves they put you through.  Along the way I hope to meet more P90X’ers like my new friend, Rich, who happens to have started the program on the same day I did.  His blog can be found at http://www.p90xresultsworkout.com/.

If you want to more about P90X, click HERE for more info or you can find out more info HERE about other programs and supplements to get you in the best shape of your life.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anamaria Grabowski permalink
    September 24, 2009 10:52 pm

    Congrats on the last few weeks. Half the battle is “showing up.” Looks like you’ve done that and more. There are a ton of P90X blogs on wordpress = great support system for someone doing the program.

    Continued success-
    Anamaria
    http://nascentfitness.wordpress.com/

  2. September 26, 2009 1:24 am

    Good luck on your P90X journey — I’m a little more than halfway through my (first) 90 days, and it’s been incredibly challenging and fun. I look forward to reading about your experiences on the program! (And if you don’t mind, I’m going to link to your blog from mine…)

  3. October 1, 2009 5:47 pm

    Great Job. I am just into Phase 3. I am writing a three part series for my university newspaper then corss posting on my blog. Here is the first 1 P90X Phase 1.

  4. December 20, 2009 11:11 pm

    Man, I thought I was hard when I completed P90X, but you’re doing it on top of your triathlon training?! You, sir, are an animal and an inspiration. Peace.

Leave a Reply

