Skip to content

P90Xcellence (Phil’s Fault)

October 13, 2009

Today was Day 43 of my P90X training. How come it felt like my first?

Each day for the past six weeks I have prided myself on my ability to bring it to the next level. Whether that means more weights or more reps, I have risen to the occasion. Until today…

Chest, triceps and shoulders were on the agenda. I was doing OK, keeping up from last week and bettering things. Then it came. Overhead tricep ishot-1extensions came. Was it because I use PowerBlocks vs. dumbbells and I rush to change weights or was it my balance? Or was it Phil’s fault? You know Phil. He’s the guy on Tony’s left who never smiles and carries a grudge against Tony from another DVD where Tony ripped him about 8 times for bad form. Yeah, I’m thinking it is Phil’s fault! So, what do I do now?

I beat myself up pretty good during my workout. I let myself have it. Was it lack of focus? Don’t know. Was it lack of desire? Don’t think so. I tried hard but just couldn’t do it. But I did try my best and then…I forgot the rest. In true P90X style.

Ab Ripper X came next. My arms were throbbing and I could see them shaking on many of the exercises. But the unexpected occurred. Despite a crappy feeling workout, my mind and body came together to achieve what I once thought not possible. I did all 25 reps of the Fifer Scissors and proceeded to complete all reps of all exercises to crush Ab Ripper X for the first time.

Maybe it was because Phil wasn’t in the Ab Ripper sequence. Either way I can’t look back on today as a failure. I worked to fatigue. I crushed the abs. I had difficulty lifting my arms when washing my hair shortly after. Sounds like a good workout when that occurs, right?

If you have one of those days where things aren’t jiving, that’s OK. It will happen. Just grit your teeth, breathe and do your best. You’ll live to beat it another day. I have 3 weeks before doing this workout again. I am already plotting my revenge.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 5:46 am

    That’s hands-down the single best P90X screenshot I’ve ever seen on any website — ever.

  2. October 15, 2009 2:02 am

    That dude is Frankenstein.

Leave a Reply

