Skip to content

What IF Life Was Over?

October 22, 2009

On April 5, 2008 I started this blog to talk about life and the certainty that it’s never over whether you are 40 or any age.  My readers have followed me on my journey into the 40’s where we have discussed tips, tricks and other goodies associated with improving life through fitness, running, etc.  And then I drove to work this morning.

While I was at a stop light intersection, listening to the radio, two cars collided about 20 feet from me.  Metal and glass and other materials cars are made from went flying.  One driver got out immediately to check out the damage while the other used her cell phone to contact the police or friends.  It happened quickly.  It was over quickly.  Luckily no one was hurt.

BUT, what IF that accident would’ve occurred to you or me – and the outcome was fatal?  My wife’s aunt died a few weeks ago in a head-on collision as she drove home from work.  We all know of people in similar situations as these.  Life can be taken from any of us at any moment.  And the choices we made can never be taken back.  But they can be changed in the future for those of us still living.

Car accidents are one topic that may be avoidable, but what about your health?  Do you take care of yourself to avoid an “accident” one day?  Stop and consider this:  the habits you follow today can always be changed.  Just because you did something yesterday or have done that for many years – you CAN change that habit.  Starting today.  Whether you smoke, drink excessively or eat the wrong choices – are you headed for an accident of your own?  And if you are, what is stopping you from changing that habit?

My daughters mean the world to me.  They are the most precious gift my wife has ever given me.  It’s my choice to take an alternative approach to the traps easily fallen into.  It’s my choice to eat better, to work out and to talk about it with others.  If others want to listen – great!  If not, then perhaps they will remember me should they want to talk another day.  My choice is life.  What is yours?

Decide

Click Here for Movie

If you struggle with making the right choices or need some assistance, I can help.  I have recently become an Independent Team Beachbody Coach.  What that means is that I have seen so many results and positive outcomes in my current program, P90X, that I want to tell others about it so they have an option I wish I knew about sooner.  (By the way, did you know there are over 7,000 YouTube testimonials about P90X and its successful results!?)  My advice, like this blog, is free.  Beachbody also has a free site where you can become a member, talk to others on the Message Boards and learn about programs like P90X and many otherrs.  If you want to know more, just let me know.  Or click on the picture for a brief video on how you can change your health and possibly your financial future.

Life Is NOT Over.  Make the right choices starting today.  And live like you’ve never lived before.

Let’s hear from you – whatever age you are, what things are you doing or have done that totally surprised you once you put in some effort and changed habits?  I’d love to hear about it in the comments section below!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 5:01 am

    Hey Jeff,

    I suffered an L4 and L5 herniation in my lower back about 3 years ago. It was a freak accident. I spent almost a year on my back, unable to do even the slightest motion and my life consisted of work and floor time.

    Eventually I decided to try rehab – having someone else help you recover – and that was semi successful. I was able to find HOURS of relief. But eventually the pain would come back and I would be back to where I was before. This went on for almost 9 months. 4 times a week, 1 hour per session, $60 cost each visit. You do the math.

    Finally, I read a book – I have blogged about this before – and decided that I had had enough. With the knowledge that pain does NOT equal damage, I decided to ramp up my rehab and went at it solo. Enter P90X.

    It was a shift in mindset to go from having someone else do the work for you to doing it yourself and certainly there was a period of adjustment as I went from near cripple to self reliant. And the pain in that period of adjustment was nigh unbearable.

    But eventually it worked and I found myself in better shape than I have ever been in the previous 7 or 8 years! It astounded me that it took me hitting rock bottom to finally get me thinking more proactively and more decisively. I was aggressive, positive and insistent. And it paid off for me this time!

    Never underestimate the role that your mind plays in making a positive change. It’s ONLY when you commit to something mentally 100% that true change happens. If you flounder or don’t believe in what you’re doing, it’ll never take. Believe in yourself and the power you have to make those changes and the sky appears to be the limit.

Leave a Reply

