Skip to content

The Verdict for P90X Is In

November 19, 2009

When a company makes a claim about their product, commercials show the proof with visual evidence.
Traditionally when people engage in a 90 day exercise program, the most marketed result we see are the Before and After pictures. And why not? By nature we are skeptics at heart and we want proof that efforts provide results.  I’m from Missouri (the Show Me State), so I have an excuse why I need proof – apparently there are more Missourians than I gave credit!
On this blog that is the case as well, where my own progress photos page is highly visited. As I post my results via charts showing Week 1 vs the last workouts, those posts are also highly trafficked pages. But I’m here to report another way you can measure the validity of P90X and its reliability as a legitimate program.
For the past few years, my blood pressure has been in the “elevated range.”  My family has a history of high blood pressure, diabetes and cardiac issues.  You think I need any more reasons to work out and fight hereditary traits?  With that in mind, you can imagine my frustrations when I would run, eat well, etc. – but yet my blood pressure would be close to 140 over 90, which is the beginnings of Stage 1 Hypertension (as shown here).

For the past 5 days I have been under the weather.  I’ve been achey, stuffy and torn between whether this malady was my seasonal strep throat or another sinus infection.  During a routine doctor’s office visit today I had my blood pressure taken, the first time since I have started doing P90X.  To be honest, I never even thought about it until the cuff went around my arm, but as it did my head wondered, “Hmmm…wonder what effect P90X HAS had on my blood pressure?”  As the nurse slipped the cuff off and entered the results into the computer, I couldn’t help but read it over her shoulder.  My usual 140 over 90 was down.  Today’s reading:  126 over 82!

For anyone reading this, bear in mind I’m over 40 – and this is what 40’s and above do – we get excited about our blood pressure results.  Lame, I realize, but I’m just being honest here.  OK, back to business – For my blood pressure to come down from Stage 1 Hypertension to close to normal range I was stupified.  Wow.
Wow – because I was running long distances over the summer.  My highest was 20 miles.  I was running 30 miles a week or higher.  I was active.  But I never saw the blood pressure reflect much of a change.  Enter P90X – and 75 days into it, my pressure drops.  An immediate vision of my little girls popped into my head and I thanked God for this great news and also for a program like P90X that is providing THESE results in addition to the visual changes and statistical changes.  My efforts to invest in time today so I will have more time tomorrow is working.  P90x is helping my body and my heart – and my chances of more of a life.  What more could you ask for?

If YOU are looking for a program that can equip you with change, true change, I hope you will find satisfaction in what I report.  When you eat right, get good guidance, and work out the whole body, the evidence speaks for itself.  Like I said, I’m only 75 days in, but I’m anxious to see how those numbers change in the days to come.  Stay tuned!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 1:27 pm

    OOOOOh, you have NO idea how on board I am with this. I adore P90X! It IS the end all and be all of workout routines, in my eyes. I am more fit now, than I was at 107 pounds, and I’m still overweight! I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I will only continue to get even more fit and healthy as I continue on this path of P90X. When I’m done this round, I’m taking a couple weeks off and starting another round. P90X is THE BEST thing that I’ve ever done for myself, along with my healthy eating, of course. P90X RockS!

    Congratulations on your amazing blood pressure! Did you do a happy dance? :o)

    • November 19, 2009 4:19 pm

      You bet I did a happy dance. Even though I wasn’t feeling so hot (still am not 100%) I’m still convinced the combination of eating right and working out in the total body perspective P90X provides is the reason. The support from their website helps as well when you get involved with the community via the message boards. A 10% reduction in blood pressure when nothing else has had that impact – a smile just comes to my face when I think about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

