Skip to content

Vibram Five Fingers Provides Great P90X Results

November 26, 2009

Tonight I had the pleasure of doing P90X Plyometrics with the assistance of my new Vibram Five Fingers.  I was pretty happy with them, I must say.  Here are just a few reasons I noted:

  1. The Five Fingers are light – very light compared to my normal running/fitness shoes
  2. The shoes felt a part of me due to their unique design
  3. During the exercises that have you jump up and turn 180 degrees or more, I typically feel a small wrench in my knee; not so with the Vibram Five Fingers
  4. Tony Horton says in this workout to land softly; wearing these almost mandates a landing on the balls of your feet/toes so that mandate is easily accomplished when you wear these
  5. With lunges, the flexibility of the toes region allows some toes to flex and others not to, so the response by your foot is more normal as opposed to a forced motion by a conventional shoe because of its design

Plyometrics has you jumping throughout the workout, so I was expecting some blisters to pop up (or pop later on!).  But that was not the case.  My Vibram Five Fingers performed like champs.  I did notice a change in some balance movements like the one legged quad stretch, but with a slight change I was able to balance as though I had no shoes on.  And with the Vibram Five Fingers, that is close to being almost true.

All in all, my workout was strong and I’m closing in on Day 90 with each workout.  I’m excited to wear these shoes in upcoming workouts, especially Yoga, due to their lightness.  And perhaps very soon I can give them their paces running through the neighborhood.  Great workout, great results – and yes, I even sweated a little.

What paces have you put your Five Fingers through lately?

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 3:21 pm

    hmmmm…..looks like something else I have on my ‘must get’ list. I’m glad you like them.

  2. Justin permalink
    July 20, 2010 4:28 pm

    I just purchased my first pair of Vibram Five Fingers KSO (Keep Stuff Out) this past Sunday and am amazed at the different over regular shoes. I am in the Air force and fitness needs to be a part of my daily life. The only problem is since I have been in my Osgood-Schlatter’s disease in my knees has gotten worse and since I joined in 05 I have slowly been developing compartment syndrome and when it comes to the running portion of my PT test, I nearly fail it everytime. I started doing P90X with these and it makes a world of difference and even went for a jog with them, only a mile to test and they felt great and make you run naturally and I had no problems with my knees or calf muscles with the compartment syndrome, so these are starting to seem like a career saver.

Leave a Reply

