Skip to content

I Feel Ya P90X Part 4 (Results)

November 29, 2009

This is the fourth installment of the results I’ve seen from my first round of P90X.  Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 are here.Despite a lingering cold, cough and overall crud, I was able to complete my last resistance workout for P90X today. It wasn’t easy and I did push the pause button to catch my breath. But most important of all – I finished. My 13 year old made sure of that. She coached me through and provided the encouragement I needed.
The workout was comical for me. As suggested, I had my weights, pull-up bar, towel, workout tracking sheet and chair. But I also had my cough drops, tissue and water. I used them all throughout generously. 🙂
Jeff's results from P90X for Legs and BackOf all the P90X workouts, this particular workout caused the most effort. I fought this routine all through this round. In fact, two times I did not finish (which brought my numbers down as reflected in my progress chart). I believe in accountability and full disclosure, so that explains the two weeks where the bars took a dip. I can’t say the weeks this occurred were due to a lack of effort. My body has taken a beating from this cold, but you just have to do your best and forget the rest!
Looking back, I should have kept track of the leg exercises even though the sheets from the program don’t list them. Some of the leg exercises really test you. Lunges, like squats, leave you breathless at times as your blood travels from your heart all the way down to your quads. My calves got the best of me today which was due in part to yesterday’s inaugural run with my Vibram Five Fingers. Many people report sore calves initially with the VFF’s as your body adjusts to the new mode of running needed. As I type this, my body is pretty much disliking me since I’ve combined my illness with P90X and my Five Fingers. It hurts so good, but it still hurts. 🙂
I’m proud of myself for persevering through the past few weeks and finishing today. I’m also VERY proud of increasing my overall reps by almost 400%!! To help you read this, the numbers shown reflect two sets of each exercise.
I believe I have some more numbers to report on other workouts plus a summary review. In the meantime I have 8 workouts to go before I can call myself a graduate. Anyone seen my Icy Hot?…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 5:52 pm

    Awesome job Jeff. You sure are proving what you’re made of, working your butt off while sick. That takes dedication and determination. Proud of ya, buddy. Can I just get a “P90X rules!” LOL.
    I can’t wait to be a first time graduate myself. I’m on week 10, whooshaw! :o)

Leave a Reply

