Skip to content

I Feel Ya P90X – Part 5 (The Saga Continues)

December 2, 2009

Alright people, I’m here to report in on more results for my P90X workouts!  This time I’m talking about the Back and Biceps workout.  There are many great routines, but this particular workout genuinely pushes your biceps to their breaking point.  And if it doesn’t work your arms, then you’re not doing it right.  It’s just that simple.

I really pushed myself the last phase of P90X in this workout.  Especially the Congdon Locomotives as you can see above.  Each exercise I increased over Week 1 by a fair shake and overall had a 60% increase in strength.

“Hey!  What’s Tonnage?  Tonnage is what I use to “fairly” compare workouts.  I first described Tonnage in this post, but it equates to your reps multiplied by your weight lifted so that you can determine a total amount of weight lifted during a set.  Make sense?  As I’ve said before, this seems to work out well unless your first week consisted of very high reps and low weight.  Consider 25 reps * 10 lbs. means 250 lbs. of “tonnage,” but if I did 10 reps * 25 lbs. that would be the same weight.  So the true trick is starting with an appropriate weight; a trick not too easy for folks in Round 1 of P90X or any program where they haven’t done a certain exercise before and can’t determine the right weight up front.

If you want to experience great arm growth, know up front that the static curls are worth their weight in gold and will have you biting your lips and curling your toes.  As always, be sure to use the correct weight so that form doesn’t suffer.  Otherwise, your hard work is for naught if you cheat your form.

Check Back and Biceps off the list of improvements for me during this Round 1 of P90X.  Mission accomplished!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 7:20 am

    Hey I did Back & Biceps last night. I LOVE that workout. I upped most of my weights and man, did I work it…to the point of exhaustion. Nothing better than a great workout…feeling the biceps all pumped up…gotta love that!
    Way to go on all your improvements too.
    Yep, I’ll say it again. P90X rocks!

  2. December 4, 2009 9:29 pm

    Cool graph! I loved doing this workout. I think its help me build strength in my back the most. After having a few kids I can actually tell a difference.. haha. Keep it up

    Susan

Leave a Reply

