Skip to content

What’s Next? (Life After P90X)

December 8, 2009

The last 90 days of my life have been nothing short of amazing.  I lost 15 lbs, have made great strides in strength, can do more push ups and pullups than I’ve ever done in my life and I have a great start to a 6-pack.  All at the young age of 41.  Now that I have completed P90X, I could be like the Jeff of old – no map, no plan and thus lost, wandering aimlessly…..NOT!  My life is like a movie and at this point I already know the Coming Attractions.

When I used to be a highly active member of the “Breakfast Club” at my old gym (parked and ready to enter as soon as the doors opened at 530 AM), I’d make many random observations.  Oddly enough, when you wear headphones, you can actually read lips better -did you know?  So I could keep up on some gossip without anyone aware.  And then there were the 2 studs who benchpressed everyday to impress the ladies.  That worked out real well until one of them should have been spotting better and his partner nearly choked himself with a 200 lbs. attempt (true story).  But I digress…

You could tell the new members right away.  Not only did they stick out in their newly purchased shoes and clothing, but they also had a few commonalities including that hesitant semi circuit of the machines.  Let’s face it – they were lost.  They had great intentions, but they had no plan.  Many times in life we’re like that, huh?  Great intentions, but no plan.  That’s what is so great about P90X and other Beachbody home workout programs – they provide a plan for you that takes the guesswork out.  But when that plan is complete – what is next?

One thing I have learned is that as you near obtaining one goal – start to put together a set of new goals.  In other words, don’t be that New Guy without a Plan.  In no particular order, here are some goals on my wish list that I have compiled to keep me focused on my health:

  1. Continue running and learning barefoot/Chi running with my Vibram Five Fingers – I’m really anxious to allow my calves to re-develop so I can experiment more with my Vibrams and look to have pain free running for the first time in my life.  If all goes well, I would love to actually train AND FINISH a marathon.  (that last part is a jab at myself since an injury derailed my last attempt)
  2. Complete P90X Plus – I will more than likely do another round of P90X because my first round was so successful, but I like to shake it up!  I hear P90X Plus provides a solid workout with even more exercises.  I love new experiences, so I anxiously await the new DVDs and program that should arrive this week.
  3. Kettle Bell workouts – I have read about Kettle Bells many years ago via T-Nation.com.  Now that I have a solid base of health within me, I’m ready to branch out in other workouts and ways.  The Kettle Bell allows various exercises to be done at home, the beach, the playground, on vacation, etc.  The unorthodox style of these workouts only adds to more muscle confusion and keeps things fresh.
  4. Reading Primal Blueprint is on my reading list.  PB was written by Mark Sisson, the supplement guru behind the P90X Recovery Drink and Protein Bars.  These days Mark has his own company and his site can be found at Mark’s Daily Apple. Mark’s site has created a caveman inspired diet and workout plan, complete with a mascot who goes by the name of Grok.  I’m anxious to read more as this appears to be gaining in popularity and results.

Perhaps you’re a complacent person and satisfied with your current results.  If so, I’m glad for you.  With that said, I’d still challenge you to start planning today for your next step.  Start thinking and entertaining what comes after today.  There’s no better way to celebrate a great transformation than putting that new found body to new tests.  Then you can learn all over again exactly what your body is capable of.  The results just might surprise you.

Speaking of results, I’ll be posting my full 90 day before and after review of P90X  including pictures in the VERY near future.  So stay tuned!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 7:28 am

    I love your goals…and I totally agree. This is a new lifestyle and journey. The journey doesn’t end just because one exercise program does. There are many many goals I have set aside for myself.
    Here are some of mine:

    1. Finish P90X
    2. Couch to 5k Training while on hiatus from P90X
    3. Begin round 2 of P90X, possibly doubles
    4. Complete another 5k in March and significantly better my time because of my newfound love of jogging, and my ability to do so.
    5. Complete round 2 of P90X
    6. Train for my HALF MARATHON I am planning for the fall, where I will meet up with my mentor in person…he lives in the US, I live in Canada…EXCITING!
    7. Begin training for triathalons….
    and then I will find MORE, much much MORE to enjoy on this journey.

    Isn’t it exciting?!

  2. December 10, 2009 9:06 am

    Jeff,

    Congrats on the 90 day completion. Proud of you. I know you had some hiccups along the way, but you stuck too it. All good. I’m working on a hybrid workout, you interested. Taking it slow, but it is a 40 minute workout 4 days a week.

    Rich

Leave a Reply

