Skip to content

Get Primal!

December 15, 2009

While Geico has cashed in on the caveman and even created a short-lived show on the specimen(did anyone see it?!), I’ve been busy reading up on the caveman from a healthy perspective.  Huh?  Let me explain.

I’m not the average bear here, folks.  I love devouring new ideas and concepts and then applying them to my lifestyle if they seem appropriate.  As I was nearing the completion of P90X, I came across a few sites that eventually led me to Mark Sisson.  Mark Sisson is a former 2:18 marathoner (sheesh!) and traithlon champion who went on to become a trainer and supplement expert.  In fact, Beachbody used his formulations to create some of their supplements including the P90X Recovery Drink.  These days you can find Mark on his highly successful blog, MarksDailyApple.com where he is read daily by thousands all over the world.  Not only do I read his blog daily, I also am in the midst of reading his book, Primal Blueprint.  I’m currently obsessed with it!  By the looks of this picture, something’s working to attain the definition he shows at age 55.

As I wrap up my last thoughts on P90X Round 1 in the next few days, I’ll be splashing you with thoughts from Mark’s book along with my new journey towards eating primal.  The connections Mark has with many fitness and health topics or thoughts is highly intriguing; we’re talking about Crossfit, the Paleo Diet, KettleBells, hormone free beef and organic eating choices, just to name a few.  We live in highly interesting times and after you are subjected to some of Mark’s thoughts and the successes many have had from his ideas, you soon find yourself in a different place than you were.  If you’re like me, you might start wishing you were living in the past.

Finally, I can’t wrap up any thoughts about Mark’s site or book without mentioning Grok.  Grok is the mascot behind Mark’s concept of living primal like a caveman.  Through Grok’s life we learn of the 10 rules behind Primal Living and why being a caveman wasn’t such a bad thing (execpt for the occasional and pesky Saber-Toothed Tiger, that is.)  I’ll talk about these rules in upcoming posts and how they can be applied to daily living with a few simple adjustments.

There’s much more to come about living primal.  But in the meantime, in the words of many of Mark’s readers,
“Grok On!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 9:42 pm

    Yep…I’m just like you. On the journey of self improvement, I also devour information that will make a difference. Thanks to you, I’ve looked at his Primal Blueprint…and I think it’s definitely a good idea to investigate further. I may have to buy this book for myself. Think it’s available in Canada?
    I love how you give it to the people…you find something helpful, something that could change a persons life, and you advertise it…way to pay it forward, Jeff. :o)

Leave a Reply

