Skip to content

A Glorious and Victorious 90 Days (P90X with pictures included)

December 16, 2009

What started off as an experiment turned out to be a wonderful journey that helped me learn more about fitness and about myself – compliments of Tony Horton, P90X and BeachBody.

For those of you who have been reading this blog, you know that I have had an interesting year.  Many months ago it all started as a journey towards completing a marathon that turned into something unexpected but wonderful at the same time.  During the last month of my marathon training I suffered a stress fracture/overuse injury and I was left shattered and frustrated.  I quickly got over my pity party and used the opportunity to switch gears and do some cross-training with the assistance of P90X.  And therein started a fresh path.

Is It Easy?

It wouldn’t be fair to say the P90X path is easy.  It’s not.  If it was easy, then everyone would be doing it, right?  I chose P90X because of its commercialized EXTREME value.  I wanted something that would push me and re-shape me.  And I found it.
My first week of workouts was nothing short of pure soreness.  BUT, a good kind of soreness as my muscles were exposed to new methods of being used.  The soreness was a sign to me that my muscles were being broken down and then replaced with more muscle as long as I ate right (which I did).  My second week showed less soreness but an ongoing challenge to complete the exercises I saw demonstrated on the DVD’s.  Tony Horton and his crew never let me down with challenging exercises and ongoing motivation.

Support Is All Around You

As my workouts continued, I sought inspiration and motivation anywhere I could find it.  I subscribed to several blogs dedicated to P90X, I found some great podcasts on iTunes about P90X and I found an accountability partner online who blogged about his journey as well.  All of these steps I highly recommend.  Even if you’re the only one in your household who is doing P90X, you are not alone in the journey.  There are thousands out there who support you if you just get involved.

After 30 days had passed I was seeing great progress.  My “love handles” were dissipating and my ability to do many bodyweight exercises, like pull-ups and push-ups, saw great improvement.  As many of my blog posts have shown, I saw incredible increases in strength and stamina and my pictures also show the results I achieved.

After 60 days I exposed myself to varying meal plans and I learned about my intensity and what I’m made of.  That’s the great thing about P90X – it truly pushes you and gives you increased self-esteem as you see the progress unfold for you on your worksheets.  At the end, it doesn’t matter if you can do 25 push-ups or 15 – it’s all relate to you, the individual.
Between the 60 day and 90 day mark, I fell ill for a few weeks compliments of a sinus infection.  So my 90 day journey was ACTUALLY closer to 100.  So I would wager to say I went through a few more hardships than the average person and I had to re-assert myself to not only finish but dig down deep as I exercised on some days while not feeling so well.  Although this was probably not the smartest thing for me to do, and something I wouldn’t recommend for all, I did see my intensity level continue to expand and the reps I performed increased also.

Lessons Learned

So, as a graduate of P90X, here is what I uncovered:
I found a legitimate workout system that allows you to get a great workout at home.
I lost 10% of my bodyweight and decreased my bodyfat from 25% to 10%.
I gained major support from new friends and new sources.
I’m re-energized in my fitness journey and look to complete P90X Plus in the VERY NEAR future.

If you’re considering P90X, I would urge you to review my earlier blog posts.  I wrote a lot about the nutrition side because I wanted to provide a different slant than what most others write about.  I hope you have found this part of my journey motivating, encouraging or entertaining.  It’s been an educational experience, if nothing else.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 7:52 am

    Ok, that was an awesome blog Jeff. You have some pretty impressive results there. And I particularily love the part when you say that it’s not easy. It’s not….but sure is worth all the ‘blood, sweat, and tears’…ok, mabye not blood…possibly tears. LOL. I hope many many people will read this and become inspired to do P9oX! In my humble opinion, it is THE BEST workout program out there if you want full body results. Let the transformation begin!

  2. December 16, 2009 8:57 am

    Awesome job sticking to it. Well done.

    • December 16, 2009 10:46 am

      Thanks Steven – appreciate your words. A good friend of mine has commented on how many people start blogging about doing P90X compared to those that finish. That simply fuelled my fire to ensure I was one of those that finished!

  3. Guy permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:44 am

    GREAT JOB JEFF,

    I have used your blog for not only inspiration, also insight and lots of needed help….You need to know that you have helped atleast one person with your blog, I’m sure there are many more…

    Congratulations Again!!!!!

    Keep pressing play.

    Guy

    • December 16, 2009 11:53 am

      That made my day! Thanks for shouting out your comments – that simply encourages me to keep at it. As always, let me know of topics you’d like more info on and feel free to comment more often!

  4. December 16, 2009 11:58 am

    These pictures are great. Another man proves that p90x works if you work hard and stick to your goals.

    Great Job Jeff.

  5. Shannon permalink
    December 16, 2009 1:57 pm

    Awesome results Jeff!
    Thanks for documenting your journey and results… P90X ROCKS!

    ~Shannon

    • December 16, 2009 2:18 pm

      Thanks Shannon and thanks for being a great role model for us to strive to be. Your pics are the ones that rock!

  6. December 16, 2009 9:00 pm

    Congratulations Jeff! Great job sticking with it and reaping the rewards. I am sure you have inspired others to try P90X just as you inspired me to do the Twin Cities Marathon.
    Keep up the hard work and enjoy the successes!

    • December 17, 2009 8:35 am

      Thanks Jeff – – I’m anxious to put my training and new physique to a functional test in training with you. When’s the next marathon?

  7. December 16, 2009 11:26 pm

    Very impressive results, Jeff! Awesome job!

    • December 17, 2009 8:36 am

      Thanks FB – your blog was one I read and still read on a daily basis. Your fun insights into P90X and the cast/crew always provided me comedic relief and forced me to look at the workouts in a different light. Good luck with your Insanity/Hybrid training and lowfat chocolate milk.

  8. December 16, 2009 11:31 pm

    Nice job Jeff. P90X is not easy but it’s definitely worth it. I’m a fellow graduate of P90X and on round 2. This is the first workout that I have found that I haven’t gotten bored with in 3 weeks.

    I love reading of other’s success with P90X and I’ll continue to watch your progress as you move onto Round 2 and beyond.

    I’ve been tracking my progress as well. Check me out at http://www.myhealthyfitlife.com. Feel free to connect with me on Facebook as well.

    Keep pushing play Jeff and remember to BRING IT!

    • December 17, 2009 8:37 am

      Thanks Mark – I’ll have to check out your blog and watch how Round 2 progresses for you. I’ll be doing P90X Plus after Christmas and I’ve already heard it pushes you in new ways, so I’m looking forward to it.

  9. Paul permalink
    December 18, 2009 2:30 am

    Great blog!

    Amazing results there. You mention that this is a great program for home workouts, but is P90X something that you could use in a gym situation or a mixture of home and gym? I’m tied into a gym membership I wouldn’t want to neglect that.

    Cheers

    Paul

    • December 18, 2009 6:38 am

      As long as your gym has a place to stretch out, etc then yes you could do it. You may get a few weird glances at some of the moves but I have friends who do it at the gym and home. Good question!

  10. December 18, 2009 11:53 am

    Looks good and good synopsis of the program, congratulations. I am looking forward to finishing up soon, 15 days to go.

Leave a Reply

