Skip to content

P90X Has a Sequel Coming?

December 22, 2009

Having come off a great “movie buzz” after recently seeing Avatar with my 13 year old, Haley, my mind has been reeling with what a great piece of film it was.  I hear talks are already underway for a sequel.  If you’re like me, you’re a sucker for a sequel. Think of all the great movies – and then think about their sequels. (Bear with me, you might be jumping ahead).

When I think of movie sequels, I think of the great ones, the franchises such as Rocky, Rambo, Terminator, Lord of the Rings, the Jason Bourne films, Indiana Jones, Iron Man, SpiderMan, the Godfather – and my personal favorite – Aliens. While there are many more to list, these are the movies that were made into sequels and ones that got me equally excited after I watched the first one.

OK, now back to the real reason for this post. Sequels.

Yesterday at 1:22 PM a question was posed on Facebook, on the P90X Fan Page.  “What are your thoughts on a P90X sequel?  Thumbs up?  or Thumbs down?  What would you want to see more of, less of?”

More than 325 responded with a thumbs up (within less than 24 hours).  Over 300 commented.  Not only is this a great commentary about the proper use of social media, the responses were typical.  Wanna guess the fairly common themes?  In no particular order:

  • Less yoga (Amen!)
  • More intensity
  • Providing digital copies for use on iTunes (great idea for travellers with iPhones, iPods, etc.)
  • More moves

P90X does have a little brother called P90X Plus.  I’ve heard it’s a great program and continues the intensity.  I’ll know more come Christmas Day since a little elf informed me it is under my tree.  But I’m expecting P90X’s sequel to be more encompassing than P90X Plus since its a smaller version consisting of 5 DVD’s as opposed to the original collection of 12 DVD’s, a fitness guide, exercise guide, etc.

My hat is off, in fact all of them are off, in Beachbody/P90X’s honor for making this move on Facebook.  Let the consumers assist with the product and they will purchase more of it.  Who doesn’t want to be a part of that if you’re a P90X’er?  If you take a look at a great tool called Google Trends, you can track the search rates for any term, including P90X to gauge its popularity.  You can see that P90X had heightened success during the middle part of 2009 and it is now shifting down a bit.   Come January it would be expected to see it pop up a little due to New Year’s resolutions and the annual “Time to get off the couch” thought process most Americans foster in their minds.  Still, I am of the impression that Beachbody recognizes it’s time to jump on the success train it has seen with P90X and it’s time to feed the masses some more fitness.  And judging by the circles I run in, the sequel would be welcomed with open arms.

To Beachbody and to the P90X people, YES, I say, YES, please come out with a sequel to P90X.  BUT, remember my first paragraph.  If you didn’t jump ahead, then it’s time now to talk about sequels one last time.  Everyone remembers the original movie in any sequel or trilogy.  But too often the sequel simply does not live up to the original.  Am I right?  (I think so!)  Very few movies had a sequel that bested the original.  I can think of a few, but the operative term is FEW.  So, P90X, if you do come out with a sequel, continue doing what you’re doing and asking the consumers for their input.  But better yet, please incorporate some of the more suggested requests.

Do we want a P90X sequel?  Yes we do.  Do we want it to be taken to the next level?  Yes we do.

P90X, we say to you simply this:  Bring it.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 9:36 am

    Hey, isn’t P90X + the sequal to P90X? LOL. I saw some youtube clips…and also read some input from people doing it,…and guess what….I’m buying it in the spring! Yay ME! I’m doing one more round of P90X starting Jan. 17th…and that will take me to spring. I’m going to see HUGE results this next round…and I can’t wait for the Plus! You’re going to have to let me know how you like the plus. I heard that it gets more difficult as you go…sounds like a rarin good time to me…seriously!

    • December 22, 2009 9:47 am

      I always thought P90X Plus was the sequel, but they are talking about another set of workouts from the Facebook page. It must be in the works if they put it out there on Facebook. I’ll let you know when I find out more details.

  2. December 22, 2009 9:52 am

    Oh hey btw, great taste in movies. I love all of them…but I gotta add the Die Hard franchise too :o)

  3. December 22, 2009 11:16 am

    P90X+ is more of an add on, it has serious limitations. You absolutely need a chinn up bar. No alternatives with bands for chin ups or pull ups. I reviewed it here Fitness Options for the Student Lifestyle in a piece that ran in my university paper. And in this piece P90X at 120 Days Out I write a summery of each workout for P90X and the Plus. I am currently in the middle of a P90x+/One on One Hybrid (You can see the schedule or worksheets in the linked post above) and already wish I had just done an full second round of P90X. All the comments I find on it are mines. Some like, some don’t, seems about an even split.

    Steven

    • December 22, 2009 11:19 am

      I’ll be checking out your review after I reply Steven – thanks for providing the link. How are your workouts progressing? Perhaps when I read the review, I’ll find out!

    • December 23, 2009 9:00 am

      You need a chin-up bar because P90X+ is for graduates of P90X. If you’ve gone through P90X once you should be able to do a few chin-ups.

      I saw all of the comments of Facebook also and I have to say that I disagreed with most of them. Most people wanted more cardio. Huh? Isn’t that what just about every other Beachbody program gives? P90X is one of the few programs that you can actually build muscle with (not just lose weight).

      For anyone who wants more cardio I suggest you buy Insanity. For people who want all around fitness – stick with P90X.

      • December 23, 2009 9:44 am

        I’m with you, Mark. Cardio is not the end all answer to weight loss and can actually work against you in terms of muscle loss if done too strenuously.

  4. December 22, 2009 11:36 am

    P90XPlus still has yoga, the plus adds to your original P90X videos. Still have Yoga every week. I have switched to mostly using Tony’s Shorter Yoga workouts, the 2 from the One on One’s and the Hawaiian one – Ho’ Ala ke Kino – Awaken the Body. They are all under 4 Minutes.

    Fountain of Youth Yoga

    Patience Hummingbird

    I am down over 4lbs, have dropped 10 pant sizes in under 150 days. I have worked out 148 days in a row with Tony between P90X, P90X+, and One on One’s.

    Steven

    • December 22, 2009 11:37 am

      I assume you meant more than 4 lbs. since you dropped 10 pant sizes – that’s incredible!!!

  5. December 23, 2009 4:50 am

    Yeah sorry 40lbs down. But also gained over 1.5 inches on bicep.

Leave a Reply

