Skip to content

Time to Bring It – to the Next Level!

December 27, 2009

Producing a better, stronger body, means pushing yourself to new levels.  Doing the same old, same old gives your body little chance to grow muscle and reduce fat because it eventually adapts and settles in.  By confusing the body and muscle with new moves and new angles with various weights you can be much more successful in your efforts.  It sometimes means doing research, learning what is out there and doing a little experimentation.  I personally love to experiment and research because I love to share my results, good or bad.

For this guy, it’s been a few weeks since I completed P90X.  In the meantime, I’ve been busy doing some research.  As I’ve already blogged about, I have read Mark Sisson’s Primal Blueprint and I have propelled the nutrition aspects into my life eating plants, animals, nuts and seeds.  Click on this link to learn more about that.  In a nutshell, I’ve been reducing my carb intake so that my body stops relying on carbs as a energy source; instead it is learning to be fed energy from the fats I eat as well as from my own bodyfat in an effort to strip it down to a new low.  Call that the base of my new plan since how you eat is at the core of any successful lifestyle plan.  To take it one step further I created this JPG file for my iPod Touch as a constant reminder of the 10 Laws to Living a Primal Lifestyle (see picture to the right).  Having reminders around you helps maintain your focus, an admirable and Zen quality I also need to work on.

The second step, or course, is the workout and I have chosen to do P90X Plus, the next evolution of P90X which combines new workouts with old.  Two reasons I love going this route are:  1) I love shiny new balls (new gadgets), and this provides me new fun in working out; 2) the second reason I love going this route is the variety of workouts it gives me because I now have 17 workouts to choose from should I decide to deviate a bit from my the proposed fitness schedule that P90X Plus provides.

The third step, an extension of the second step, will involve the latest addition to my workout arsenal:  the KettleBell.  Not only does the KettleBell provide a unique new fashion from traditional workouts, its “portability” should provide a fun aspect to my workouts in the weeks to come including the summertime.  As I learn the techniques associated with Kettlebells, it will only strengthen my abilities to create new Primal Workouts on my own that aren’t so regimented but are more “on the fly” so that working out can be even more fun.  I’m also of the impression that the movements the Kettlebell demands will help work on my abs without having to do any crunches, etc.  The few exercises I’ve done, including the Swing, are basic in nature but help recruit the core muscles.  Combining the KettleBell with P90X Plus should definitely help me “Bring It” to a whole new level.  I’m excited to say the least!

I’m putting the various elements together, but I hope to kick off this new endeavor tomorrow.  I’ll have to track my workouts in a more detailed fashion, not only for me, but to anyone else who may be interested.  If I’m successful, I’d be a fool not to document it.  If I fail – again documentation will help show me what to avoid the next time around.

What might I predict as I take things to the next level – a more Primal Way of Life?  I intend on bringing my bodyfat down a bit more so that the abs can actually peek out from the bodyfat I have today.  I intend on increasing my strength and stamina.  Although I don’t WANT to lose anymore weight, I would expect the weight to come down as a result of my bodyfat loss attempts.  I do intent to build more muscle and increase the size of my chest and biceps at a minimum.  I might anticipate a bit of an adjustment as my body learns to use its fat instead of carbs for energy.  Who really knows what will happen?  All I know is that I intend to have a lot of fun along the way.  For sure, eating primally where you eat to satiety is much more fun and intuitive.  I’ll be checking my caloric intake from time to time to ensure my fats:protein:carbs are in line with my goals.  But I don’t want to get too anal about that.  The major goal is to have fun along the way as this makes converting this phase into my lifestyle a more suitable plan.

If you have taken a similar path where you incorporated new measures to take it to the next level – I want to hear from you.  If you care to share any Kettle Bell experiences – I want to hear from you.  If you plan to embark on a new workout plan – I want to hear from you.  I’m a big believer that when we share our successes or failures, we still win because two people always know more than one.  I want to continue to share my journey with you – and to hear of yours as well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 9:52 am

    The Grok poster reminds me of some goals for living I have been trying to follow for a few years. Daily Goals is about halfway down the post.

  2. Dan Szepesi permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:13 pm

    Forest has a great site and thanks for those interviews. For a kettlebell dude that is heavy into the Primal lifestyle, dont miss: http://www.charmcitykettlebells.com/feed/

    Makes me homesick for Baltimore (born and raised in MD – living in TX now) every time i read his updates.

Leave a Reply

