Skip to content

The Three P’s to Better Health

December 29, 2009

It has begun. What was set in motion a few months ago is being continued.  Only this time a few enhancements are in order.

About four months ago, my health began a self-improvement phase when I incorporated full body exercises and better nutrition according to guidelines given by P90X.  The outcome was very satisfactory and it encouraged me to keep going and to take it to a new level.  Today was the start of a fresh 90 day round – and it felt good (and sore…).

Without any further ado, here are the Three P’s I’ll incorporate this time around for even better health.  Ready?  Here they are in no particular order: P90X Plus and then eat as well as live Primal.  The three P’s.  Any questions?

I’m incorporating a Primal menu plan with my workouts this time because the evidence I’ve read suggests carbohydrates are over rated in terms of how much they are needed by the body.  Way over rated!  My energy source will be fats rather than carbs.  Good fats that is.

Day 1 of this concept started at 6 AM Monday morning when I began consuming food for the day.  A Primal nutrition plan is more like a Paleo Diet where you consume high fats, moderate protein and low carbs.  For breakfast I had Shakeology with almond milk and a tablespoon of almond butter.  For mid-morning I had a snack consisting of sunflower seeds and walnuts.  For lunch I went out and found a bison burger accompanied with lettuce, tomato and a pickle.  I added a salad to get more veggies.  When I got home from work I did the Upper Body Plus workout and ate approximately 4 oz. of turkey leftovers and a small apple.  For dinner I ate almond crusted chicken breast drizzled with melted almond butter and a salad with cucumbers and green peppers.  (Yeah, there is a lot of almond consumption today, which is beyond the norm.  I don’t want you thinking its an Almond Diet!)  The macronutrient breakdown is depicted to the right.  Unless you’re used to a low carb plan, the results might surprise you due to the majority of calories coming from fat.  Here’s another surprise then for you:  eating this way for the past two weeks with a handful of workouts performed netted a weight loss of 1 lb.

I had a major case of the nerves prior to my first workout of P90X Plus.  I can’t say exactly why other than to conjecture that perhaps I was a bit anxious about how my performance level might have decreased since the conclusion of Round 1 of P90X.  The Upper Plus workout I did today puts some emphasis on a variety of push-ups and pull-ups.  I was able to keep up pretty well with the cast in how many I was able to perform.  As expected, perfecting form in the coming days will be a key focus so that I can then focus on the intensity of my performance.  I successfully completed Day 1 and indeed felt the soreness I commonly associate with a good workout.  Tomorrow morning will confirm those results.

I’d love to say I can document my caloric intake and workouts, but I know time is not the resource we wish it could always be.  Suffice it to say I’ll share as much as I can as I bop down this new path.  What results or outcomes did you have from either P90X Plus or eating a Paleo style diet?  Please share in the comment section!

One Comment leave one →
  1. stacey (Clayberg) permalink
    December 29, 2009 11:11 pm

    Wait, maybe you are on to something… ALMOND DIET! I would do that, yum almond butter is so good. Couple of months ago, I was eating a jar from Trader Joe’s almost once a week by myself, I wouldn’t recommend that!

    Sounds like you know what your doing!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

