Skip to content

Day 2 of the Three P’s – P90X Plus and Primal Living

December 30, 2009

Today I started off with a great breakfast consisting of three scrambled Omega-3 eggs.  I added green peppers and mushrooms that were sauteed in coconut oil.  In addition I had coffee with a scoop of protein whey.  For my mid-morning snack it was my fave – sunflower seeds, walnuts and pistachios.  For lunch I had a taco salad consisting of beef, lettuce, tomatoes, and salsa.  I ate about 9 oz. of beef to ensure my protein was kept up for the day.  For my snack, I had walnuts and seeds.  For dinner I ate steak and veggies.  I’ll finish the day after my workout with a protein drink.  That puts my calories just shy of 2,400 for the day.  Fats were 54%, carbs were 13% and protein was 33%.  I did have a beer over dinner but it was the first I’ve had in about 4 weeks, so I’m not worried about that at all.

After dinner I reviewed the P90X Plus Interval Plus DVD that is on schedule for Day 2.  The length is 40 minutes and it appears to be supercharged with cardio (the cast regularly checks their pulse and shouts out numbers between 160 and 175).   Merging my Primal lifestyle with P90X Plus, I decided to forego the “cardio” tonight for a more primal approach, so I IMPROVISED and got out my new KettleBell.  Not only was the workout a decent one, I finished it in less time.  More importantly, the workout appealed to my desire for strength training versus doing cardio.

There are many Kettle Bell resources out there, but the one I came across and utilized came from KettleBellWorkouts.com.  The site host, Chris Lopez is a family guy and I can relate.  So I sampled his “Enter the Revolution” workout and will use it from time to time when I substitute or deviate from P90X  Plus.

As I expected, the body is a bit sore today, especially the chest and underarms from those push-ups.  I am a bit tired today as my body continues to adjust to a low carb attitude.  My sources tell me this will last another few weeks, so I’m planning on pushing through until I get to the other side.

And In This Corner…

On a side note, I’ve been hearing more and more about TRX, a hanging suspension system that uses your own bodyweight for resistance.  The system is pretty cool.  But as I continued researching it today, I couldn’t help but wonder, “Gee, that’s awfully pretty, but can’t I build one for myself and save $200?”  Then as I continued more research, I found a company called Vegas Pro Straps that make the same system.  Only their system is cheaper, easier to use and works better overall, says Clark Bartram.  I’m going to do more homework and post when I’ve got more info to share.  If either system wants to send me a set to test out, I’d love to blog my results.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 9:04 am

    Jeff there are a number of home made models here that from what I have read and seen work really well.

    • December 30, 2009 9:17 am

      Thanks for the tip here. Reminds me of my Dad. He can reverse engineer anything just like these guys did.

Leave a Reply

