Skip to content

Here’s Your Stinkin’ Proof!

December 31, 2009

About a month ago I posted on here the positive effects P90X and exercise had on my blood pressure.  For at least a year, even though I was running many miles, I couldn’t get my blood pressure to dip below 140 over 90.  That level put me at risk for hypertension Stage 1.

Yesterday I visited my doctor once again for one of my beloved sinus infections.  (I have a deviated septum and just need to get off my butt and get the surgery to fix this.)  As the nurse was getting my vitals, she told me my blood pressure and I nearly teared up:  120 over 70.  According to the chart on my earlier post, normal blood pressure is 120 over 80!

Not only am I ecstatic, but wanted to present the proof once again that exercise AND eating right does a body good – even if you’re 41!  I’m more than 15% improved.  What?  What did you say, naysayers?  I can’t hear you….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 2:28 pm

    LOL….I don’t think you have to worry about naysayers…I think those people are just fooling themselves, that deep down, they KNOW what eating healthy and exercise does…and they’re just lazy, or scared, or both. Congratulations on the PROOF that what you’re doing is indeed what you should be, and you are reaping the rewards that those who are not doers are never going to get. Yay!

  2. Springrunner permalink
    January 4, 2010 1:39 pm

    Jay,
    What do you think the difference was between running and the P90X that affected your blood pressure? Your diet change? I sure would like to stop taking bp meds. Actually, I don’t mind taking them, I don’t like paying for them. BTW, correct the second sentence where your diastolic is “14”. I think you meant 140.

    • January 4, 2010 1:44 pm

      Great catch on the typo. If I was 14 over 90, I guess I’d be a zombie, huh?
      I think the improved diet had a big part to do with it for me. I think as a runner I legitimized eating too many carbs that converted to fat. “Hey, I ran 10 miles, so I can eat 5000 calories a day, etc.” I may have pushed the cardio too much with running and not allowed enough strength training. So between the two I give credit mostly to a better diet plan which helped me lose 15 lbs., cut the bodyfat down and it all circled around to result in a lower BP.

  3. January 7, 2010 3:28 pm

    I wish I could say strength training, cardio work, and a good diet worked to lower my blood pressure. So far the only thing that seems to reduce it signficantly enough for me to go off blood pressure medicine is the really intense and long cycling workouts I get during the warmer months. In fact, if I take blood pressure medicine during cycling season, it has some really deleterious effects. But then, once I have to cut down on cycling (to riding the stationary bike for .5 hrs 4x a week), the blood pressure seems to go up again–despite the 2x weekly strength training I do in addition to the stationary bike riding. I can’t say that I’m extremely vigilant about my diet but I do eat mostly good foods and have been a vegetarian for over 20 years. Never been overweight and have always been fairly active. But my blood pressure went up about 3 years ago and nothing but either that really intense cycling on the one hand, or the medicine (hydrochlorothiazide), on the other, makes it return close to or within the normal range. I’m a little older than you (50, soon to be 51), by the way.

Leave a Reply

