Skip to content

Rest Day – what’s wrong with that?

December 31, 2009
tags:

Today was a big fat FAIL for me.  I had high hopes of working out this evening.  My back had other plans.  I can’t say exactly what I did, but the left lower back got tweaked something fierce late afternoon/evening.  I did a few push ups and worked on my SECRET PROJECT (to be unveiled VERY SOON!), but I can’t honestly count it as a workout.  I ate well, kept up my Primal methods, so at least I had that going for me.

So, let’s just chalk today as a Rest Day and claim the fact that rest allows for recovery and growth.  I’ll take that to the bank.  As long as the back loosens up, I plan to crush it tomorrow.  Wait, didn’t I think that last night?…

In the meantime, Happy New Year to all of you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 10:47 am

    Ok, no FAIL! You have to listen to your body. When it’s got a mind of it’s own, then…whatcha gonna go about it? Well, you still did some push-ups, right? And what’s that thing about intent?? You had every intension of working hard…your body just needed some space. So, it wasn’t fail. It was smart! :o)

  2. Kevin permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:07 am

    Rest days can be just as epic as workout days. If you feel beat down, your body probably needs some R&R. Have you thought about foam rolling/self myofascial release? I find that, when I foam roll my sore spots and get 8-10 hours of sleep per night I am on fire in the gym! When I am under-slept and over-worked things can get ugly. Kudos for taking a rest day, don’t be ashamed!

Leave a Reply

