Skip to content

Stop “Horsing” Around!

January 4, 2010

I grew up in a medium sized town by the name of Columbia, Missouri.  Yep, that is the hometown for the University of Missouri and I AM a proud Tiger (even if they lost against Navy in their bowl game).  Being a “city” boy, I never really had the opportunity to ride a horse save for the annual carnival that came to town.  But I’m not talking about a real horse, but the parallels can be drawn.

The Attack

Last week I was “attacked.”  Again.  My sinuses don’t like me, you see.  They like to congregate and then infect me with congestion, headaches, watery eyes and boredom misery.  When I get into the throes of an infection, it takes me many days to get over it, even with an antibiotic.  It makes me “foggy” and I just don’t enjoy life too much.
Despite this latest sinus infection, I gave it the ol’ college try last week with my workouts.  I’m not sure that I failed, but I don’t think I really succeeded either.  I was out of breath quickly, didn’t feel myself and then I just beat myself up because I was so weak.  I fell off the bucking horse that I once used to love riding called “Exercise” and I figured I better put this horse in the stable a few days.  Last night I got sick of not riding that horse and I put in my P90X Plus Total Body workout.   I can’t say I tamed the horse since it bucked me a few times and I had to stop and catch my breath.  BUT, I did finish and set a good baseline to compare my results against in the weeks to come.

Encouragement Time

Enough with the horse analogies. Let’s talk shop! I would dare say no matter how hard you train or are committed, EVERYONE goes through these times of self-doubt of self-pity where your mind is simply horsing around within you. You know you should work out, but something lazy in you is saying no.  At times a rest IS needed, but last night I could hear the Lazy Train trying to call me to the easy path.  At times like this I call upon one of my favorite poems.  The poem is by D.H. Lawrence and it’s called “Self Pity.”  If it sounds familiar, then you may have seen it in the movie, GI Jane.

I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

Eating right and working out is NOT always easy.   This is just another reason to have a strong WHY and not just a simple New Year’s Resolution. Rein those lazy, self indulgent thoughts in and say “Enough horsing around!”  Draw on the strength of where you want to be and how you WILL get there.  It doesn’t happen by thinking about it; only by doing it can it be achieved.  When I completed my workout, breathless though I was, I was not entirely happy with my results, but I WAS proud that I saw my workout through and that I accomplished. I love that word – accomplished. Saying I “did” my workout doesn’t capture it for me. Saying you accomplished a workout has more punch to it and gives you the credit you deserve (especially since you are in the minority of those who do take care of their bodies).
When sickness or calamity strikes, and it may – dig deep, rediscover your WHY and get back in the saddle. Trust me – you’ll enjoy the ride.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    So, yet another post I love. I am so totally on board with this. Often times people use their maladies as ‘excuses’…sometimes people have legitimate reasons for not working out…sometimes. But sometimes it’s that thing, that hurdle that they have to get over to be able to push themselves to the next level. You could have skipped your workout, and would have been justified. But then you would have felt crappy. Instead, you powered through (that happens to be my favorite expression lately) and you ended up feeling proud. That’s what it’s all about. That pride is what gets us healthy, and fit and being the best we can be.

    • January 4, 2010 9:14 pm

      And then tonight’s workout that I just completed provided the momentum I needed. The hardest part for many is getting that stone to start to turn. But as I found out once again, once it’s rolling, the stone gets easier to continue turning. Then you also find people like you and so many others – where we help each other with that stone! Thanks Lisa!

Leave a Reply

