Skip to content

The Name of the Game is Health (and Fun…)

January 15, 2010

Life is not over!

It may seem like that some days – trust me.  But you have to stay positive and know it’s true that life isn’t over.  At least not for me yesterday or today.  I’m having a great week and I had to sit down and simply share it with you.  Life should be about a healthy lifestyle, but it should also be about fun.  For those very purposes I have landed on a new way of living that will keep things fresh and ever changing.  Let me explain!

Yesterday I practiced a new school of thought (and health) for me – something called Intermittent Fasting.  I won’t take a lot of time to explain it today, but will definitely do so soon.  In a nutshell I had a decent breakfast compromised of 3 eggs (yolk and all), 4 strips of bacon, and a cup of cherries.  I ate that around 6 AM.  Then, instead of snacking mid morning – I drank water.  For lunch…I read.  For my normal mid-afternoon snack…I sipped on some coffee.  Then at dinner I ate a reasonable meal consisting of a ground beef based recipe and a salad – all normal portion sizes.  I freed myself from food just this one day this week and it was a cool feeling.  Again, more on that in a later post.

Today I went back to my normal routine eating.  I also continued a recent add-on to my workouts called the 100 Pushups Program.  As the claim goes, you do an initial test of how many pushups you can do and then it prescribes you a routine for the next few weeks so that after 6 or so weeks you end up having the ability to do 100 consecutive push-ups.  Today I did 73 with rests in between, but that is 73 more than I did most of last year (prior to P90X that is!).  And to top the day off I did one of my favorite kettlebell routines compliments of Chris Lopez over at KettlebellWorkouts.com:

Warm Up Routine
5 Push Press on each side
10 KB Squats
10 Rows each side
5 Around the Worlds each side
15 KB Swings

You do this routine 5 times and I guarantee your breath will be humming and the sweat will be pouring!

When I completed the workout I started typing here and am sipping on a protein shake consisting of 1 cup almond milk, 25 g of whey protein and a cup of raspberries blended to perfection – Yum!

I guess I’m in a great mood because I had a good workout, I had a delicious and healthy post workout drink and it all contributes to the future health of my body and the better enjoyment from life to come.  The name of the game each day should be Health – but it never hurts to have fun at it the same time.  I hope you find a fun way to stay healthy.  If you need ideas, just let me know.

What did you do this week to stay healthy and have fun at the same time?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 5:43 pm

    Well that was a fun post! It’s funny, but I do that intermittant eating myself sometimes. I don’t know where I read it, maybe on Marks page…I used to think negatively about my eating habits, because, they’re not the ‘norm’ when you consider all the ‘diet’ books and theories. I became free of that negativity when I read Jon Gabriels book, and then again, when I read from Mark that some days the people of old didn’t have much food, so they ate sparingly…but on other days they may have had more food. I found that I actually like how my body feels when I do that. One day not eating much, the next, eating more. Weird.
    So hearing that you do it…and feel awesome, just reiterates to myself that it is a good thing.
    I can’t wait to get a kettlebell. I think I might get one soon….just have to be careful of that back…
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

