Skip to content

My Primal Update One Month In

January 20, 2010

Within my favorite site, Mark’s Daily Apple, I posted a derivation of the following post as a testimonial/comment to my fellow Primal tribe mates about how the Primal style of living really works and is having a very positive effect on my body:

It’s been roughly a month since I started implementing the principles found in the book, Primal Blueprint.  Ever since I started eating “primal” around the mid to latter part of December I have been hoping to get to the stage where that afternoon cup of coffee would not be needed and my energy levels would keep up. I think I’ve finally arrived.  And I’m dying to share!

As the book and site will tell you, converting the body from relying on carbs to fat and protein will take a few weeks.  Each week that has passed has me relying less and less on the traditional methods of how Iused to eat.  I am also craving less sweets.  Traditionally my large mug of coffee is probably closer to 2 cups that I have in the morning and I would accompany it with 2-3 Splenda packets and either some whey protein or flavored creamer.  Now that I’m primal, I have been working towards decreasing the sweetener. I’m now drinking a smaller dose of coffee in the morning using heavy cream and only 1 Splenda. I think I’m pretty close to using no Splenda soon.

In addition, with the help of eating Primal and ingesting very limited carbs I successfully graduated from my first IF (Intermittent Fasting) day last week and I feel a little “smoother” even when I am hungry. The hunger “pain” is not as strong as it used to be and it makes me feel that more resourceful that if I should have to skip a meal, I would be fine now knowing my muscle mass would not be overtly diminished and my bodyfat would be the fuel to use.

To recap all of this for anyone reading the first time – my body has adjusted from relying on carbohydrates for energy to fats and protein, as taught using Paleo or Primal principles.  I don’t miss the carbs at all and my lust for sweet flavored foods has greatly diminished.  Through it all my body is learning to use its own bodyfat for energy, if needed, which decreases the imprisoned thoughts that I used to have which had me eating every day for 5-6 meals.  If you’re on the fence about trying a Primal approach – jump off that fence, order the book and visit MarksDailyApple.com for more details.

One Last Thought

On a sidenote, what gives overweight people the right to judge?  Today, a co-worker commented on how “skinny” I looked, then corrected themselves and added, “I’m sure you are healthy, but you shouldn’t lose any more weight.”

I was a little sensitive at the comment, but then I put it into perspective. An overweight person has to comment on someone being skinny because many overweight people become accustomed to their size and see it as normal.  And as for healthy, I nearly challenged them to an “on the spot” pushups or pullups challenge!

After a fast re-analysis, I don’t care what they thought of me. I look great, I feel great, and I feel so cool about life knowing that I’m eating the way I was supposed to eat. I’m enjoying the flavors, the new food combinations and I don’t look at my workouts as work but a playful way to maintain the lean physique I have the privilege to enjoy at the age of 41 (nearly 42). Ten years ago I remember the old Bowflex commercial that showed their fitness model who said he was 43. I’m gonna be in better shape than him with a year to spare by living Primal.
It doesn’t have to be said, but I’m gonna say it anyway….  In the immortal words of Primal followers everywhere:  GROK ON!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 9:56 am

    Awesome. It’s funny when overweight people comment on your appearance with negativity. My Grandma always says I look like I’m sick, lol. I guess sick is ~8% bodyfat, “normal” people just don’t look like that… Oh well, I just keep doing what I’m doing.

    • January 20, 2010 11:31 am

      I agree. I am always sympathetic to most every situation for folks because of the unknown variables they may have faced in life. But for those that are in poor shape and have the ability to do something about yet won’t – those are the folks who normally cast judgment. Oh yeah – and I forgot they are the same people who know they are in bad shape but do nothing about it and cause insurance premiums to rise every year. Thanks for the judgement and thanks for taking money out of my pocket…

  2. Anamaria Grabowski permalink
    January 21, 2010 9:13 am

    Yes, yes…I’ve had the same experiences. Fat (yes, I just used the “F word”) “friends” telling me I look horrible, bad, too skinny, like a piece of jerky, unproportioned, etc. I just smile and tell them I fel great. Period. No excuses. If they push and I’m feeling bitchy and mention all the unproportioned figures in Playboy. That pretty much shuts them up! I know, so mean.

    By the way – thanks for sharing info on Primal Blueprint. I’ve ordered the book but have already started making changes. Getting off the “eat every 3 hours; 65% carb” roller coaster will be nice. I mentioned you and your blog in my latest post, check it out: http://nascentfitness.wordpress.com/

    Hugs-
    Anamaria Grabowski

    • January 21, 2010 2:05 pm

      Thanks Anamaria. Great post by the way. I hope you enjoy the book. Great info.

  3. January 21, 2010 2:35 pm

    I thought about this post today after a coworker called my lunch “unhealthy.” It was a can of tuna, bag of frozen spinach, and some pistachios. Then she claimed her lunch was more healthy, which was tuna casserole chock full o noodles and cheese. It was healthier because her meat was “lighter” than mine, yes her words. Sometimes, I wonder if there is any hope for the masses.

    • January 22, 2010 7:46 am

      You just smile and hope they come around, huh? (And then I run around the corner and cry. Well, not really. But I think about it.)

  4. February 7, 2010 2:33 pm

    It is great to hear that your need for sugar is decreasing. I am now down to. .5 packets of splenda in my coffee. Isn’t it wonderful to have your tastebuds back! Grok on!

    • February 7, 2010 2:46 pm

      Five packets! Ashley! My highest was 5 also, but I’ll assume your cup was as big as mine. I am down to none; but I do still add cream or whey protein. It’s still primal and I have a hard time enjoying coffee black. One day…

Leave a Reply

