Skip to content

Pumpkin’s Got the Power!

January 26, 2010

Last night I was reviewing my pantry in the search for an alternative for breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I love my eggs, bacon and fruit. But a change up is always in order for me. So, imagine my surprise when I found some canned pumpkin from the holidays.

Pumpkins are a tremendous surprise to the health world. Especially canned pumpkin, according to the Washington Post.  Not only is pumpkin a great antioxidant, loaded with betacarotene, Vitamin E, Vitamin C and potassium, it turns out the canned variety is even healthier because of the pumpkins chosen and the preparation techniques that remove much of the moisture for a higher concentration of the good stuff, according to MarksDailyApple.com.

If you love Pumpkin Pie, then perhaps you’ll enjoy this tasty substitute for breakfast as much as I did.  Those who love sweet potatos – you’ll like this, too:

Pumpkin Power Breakfast
1/2 can of canned pumpkin
1 scoop of whey protein
1/2 tsp. of nutmeg
1/2 tsp. of cinnamon
2-3 tbsp. of heavy cream (I chose 3 for the extra fat)

I chose to heat the pumpkin in the microwave for about 20 seconds.  Then combine all ingredients in a small cereal bowl.  Mix well.  Then chow!
I increased my calorie intake a bit by enjoying the Pumpkin Power Breakfast with a cup of coffee with a scoop of whey protein in it.  The table above shows the nutrient breakdown.  With the cream and the protein I felt highly satiated which will dovetail nicely into my planned 12 hour Intermittent Fasting I will partake in today.  I put together a fairly comprehensive To Do list at work, so not only will I be able to FOCUS on my tasks at hand, I started the day off with a healthy meal.

Set Up for The Day
Often people have questions about Intermittent Fasting and I recently promised a post on that.  It is coming, I promise.  In the meantime, I wanted to reiterate the minimal plans I put together for today.  I used yesterday afternoon to devise my To Do list and make it a super productive day (26 to do’s planned for today!).  I ate a well-balance Primal breakfast (perhaps not all Paleo due to the cream).  Now as work time approaches I will be able to focus on work instead of my next meal.  But I have that planned out as well in Primal fashion:  Chicken Wings with Butter and Frank’s Hot Sauce.  By the way, those are also called Buffalo Wings.  Yes, as a Primal person, you can enjoy these too. 

What a “diet,” huh?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 7:29 am

    THAT SOUNDS YUMMY!

    • January 27, 2010 8:41 am

      I sent this on to Mark Sisson for submission into an upcoming cookbook for Primal folks. However, I think he interpreted this as a shake. I guess you could do that as well, but the consistency for me is closer to something you’d eat like you would pudding. Either way – enjoy if you get the chance!

Leave a Reply

