Skip to content

1,194 Pushups and Still Going

February 4, 2010

Just because it’s there.

That’s what prompted me to start the 100 Pushups Program and iPhone App a few weeks ago.  I continue to celebrate my fitness by engaging in challenges I’ve never done before.  Doing one hundred pushups seemed like a decent challenge – non-stop pushups that is…

So far I’ve almost completed a total of 1,200 pushups after 12 separate occasions.  The program typically has you doing a variable number of pushups with a 60-120 second rest period.  Tonight’s sets included doing 25-50 pushups that then totalled my new high – 163 pushups in ten minutes.

I’m sore.  I’m proud.  But most of all, I’m encouraging all of you – give it a shot.  I’m no one special.  I just try.  And I hope you’ll try this or some other challenge to see what you can accomplish in your own life.  You’ll never know what you can achieve until you’ve attempted it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 6:58 pm

    Cool post! I did a challenge two weeks ago. 1000 push-ups in 24 hours! I just went and did it by dropping and pulling off 10-20 pushups and then went about my business. I must say that people in the grocery store thought I was nuts but who cares!

    I like your idea about building to 100 consecutive pushups. The most I have ever managed was 78 and that was being generous with the last 20 or so (they weren`t really pretty).

    I am going to join your challenge starting tomorrow! I will keep posting about it on my blog and will link back to yours as well.

    cheers!

    • February 4, 2010 7:02 pm

      Thanks for commenting Mike! To be clear, this idea is actually the child of Steve Speirs, a very active runner and healthy kind of guy who is active on Twitter a lot. I’ll be glad to hear how you do!

Leave a Reply

