Skip to content

Age is a State of Mind

February 26, 2010

Today I turn the ripe age of 42.

So what?

I’m not a fixator on birthdays.  Perhaps as a child I was big on birthdays, but who wasn’t?  Birthdays mean toys, cake, balloons and fun.  As an adult, I can purchase or seek out any of these things on any day of the week.  I’m more about celebrating other birthdays like those within my family.  I’m well known for celebrating them days after, unfortunately.  I’m always late sending out birthday cards and presents to my family, as my dear Mom would agree.  Hey, I’m honest if nothing else!

These days I look at birthdays as a personal challenge.  On paper I may be 42, but in spirit and in appearance I hope to be much younger.  So that is my goal.

I remember when I was a teenager and my Dad used to listen to a Christian musician by the name of Leon Patillo.  You’ve probably never heard of him and that’s OK.  My point is this:  Dad once told me that when he “GROWS UP,” he wants to be Leon Patillo.  Even though he was close to 42 at this point and of course, joking, he was always good humored about his age.  And he never acted it either.  So in my Father’s footprints I follow.  Age truly is a state of mind.

Pondering my age, I realize I can vote, I can buy alcohol and I could run for President at this age.  However, I already vote, I don’t drink much and running for office doesn’t interest me too much.  But living a healthy lifestyle – I’m definitely in to that.  If for no other reason, being healthy at 42 affords me the luxury of easily playing with my kids, outlasting them at the playground and sticking around for them for a long time to come.

I smile as I write this post today.  I specifically started this blog because I was 40 at the time and out to prove something.  I don’t care if I’m 40, 42 or even 70.  This guy is going to enjoy life as much as I can and along the way I’m going to enjoy the journey and bring as much of you with me as I can.  Not everyday will be a party, mind you.  But I vow to continue to pass on my knowledge of what I have learned in the worlds of exercise, nutrition and life.  And I will continue to learn from you.

In celebration of my birthday I’ll enjoy the time with my family, friends and co-workers.  I’ll look back at the past year’s successes and be thankful for the new friends I’ve acquired along with the goals I’ve accomplished.  I’ll enjoy the fact that I can knock out more push ups, pull-ups and kettelbell swings than I ever did this time last year or the year before or the year before that.  I’ll also enjoy the fact that I’m far from peaking in my physical and mental condition.  How do I know that?

Simple.

Life isn’t over.  At 40 or any age.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    February 26, 2010 8:17 am

    Happy Birthday, old man…. enjoy that steak! 😉

    • February 26, 2010 9:27 am

      Thanks Brian!

      I treated myself to some steak and eggs for breakfast. Not much more primal than that! Then I did 217 pushups, a new high, in roughly the 10 minutes timeframe under the 100 Pushups Program. My chest was pumped, my arms are sore, but I’m a proud 40+ year old today. Even better I self-measured the bodyfat at 10.38%. I would prefer under 10%, but I’m not going to complain. The six-pack is beginning to peak out!

  2. Kevin permalink
    February 26, 2010 10:06 am

    Happy Birthday Jeff,

    In the primal sub-culture we belong to, age doesn’t factor in at all. There is a guy in his 50’s at my gym who consistently out performs all of us 20 year olds. All it is is time and consistency in training and diet. Look at Art De Vany, dudes in his 70’s and is fitter than the vast majority of people in the US. Keep on hitting the weights, there is a Crossfit tradition that you must wear a weight vest during your birthday workout, don’t know if you have one, but if you do go for it! By the way, looking great on the video @ MDA!

    • February 26, 2010 10:12 am

      Thanks Kevin!

      Art is a classic example of age defying. So is Clarence Bass. I think everyone gym has THAT ONE GUY who we all just shake our heads at. From our way of thinking when we are younger, they shouldn’t be able to do what they do. But we all hope we can do that when we get there, huh?
      I don’t have a weight vest, but tonight I’ll chuck out some pull-ups with my 4 year old hanging from my neck. I’ll see stars as she chokes me in the process, but it’s all good. A little oxygen deprivation is good for ya, right?!

  3. February 27, 2010 8:21 am

    Happy Birthday Buddy! Way to set a great example your aging youthfully!

  4. March 1, 2010 9:18 am

    When I grow up (I’m only 27 years old) I want to be like you Jeff! Happy Birthday!

  5. March 1, 2010 11:22 am

    happy belated birthday my blogger friend!!! loved the words! so so so true!!

  6. November 12, 2010 9:54 pm

    i love to receive birthday cards specially if they are custom built birthday cards ;:’

  7. John permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:53 am

    I know this post is kind of old but I stumbled upon it. I am now enjoying life at the age of 42 more than I ever have. I comment to my friends and co-workers who are much younger than me that I can do things now I couldn’t do at 21 like run 8 miles non-stop. Heck I even stared playing baseball again in an over 38 league. Age truly is a state of mind, thank you for posting this, it was inspirational!

Leave a Reply

