Skip to content

Explore the Winter Warmth of Your Crock Pot

March 1, 2010

Who can’t help but love the almighty Crock Pot, especially in the dead of winter?  I don’t think the sun has shown its face in South Dakota for about 7 weeks, but the warm glow from a dish prepared in the Crock Pot can quickly brighten spirits even in the face of a blizzard! A Crock Pot not only helps you eat Primal/Paleo, it usually ends up providing a very choice meal the whole family can enjoy.

So many times people ask the question, “I don’t have time to prepare food when it comes to eating healthy – so how am I supposed to make that happen?  Uh, this post is about the Crock Pot, so let’s assume that would be the answer…DING!  You are correct!  The greatest joy of using a Pot is its ability to make mass amounts of food that can be later stored in the freezer or refrigerator for the week to come.  Come home from work, re-heat the goods and you just saved yourself 30 minutes or more in food preparation (each meal by the way).

This is as simple as food preparation gets:

  1. Find your meat choices.  Brown them in a skillet or turn your crock pot up to brown it along with some olive oil for flavor and a healthy dose of fat.
  2. Add vegetables of choice – oftentimes that would be carrots, onions, peppers, celery, etc.
  3. Add chicken or beef stock if needed.
  4. Set dial to 200 or Warm.
  5. That’s it.  By the end of day your dish is ready.  Best of all, you should have enough left over to last a few days.

After making breakfast this morning, on a whim I decided to throw together some Primal Chili.  This is a pretty easy task if you have the ingredients – or you can make it up on the spot, like I did.  So, without further ado, here is what I added to my pot this morning:

  • One lbs. of grass fed ground beef
  • One lbs. of ground turkey
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 can diced tomatos
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • Diced jalapenos in juice (about 1/2-3/4 cup)
  • Diced red onion
  • Sliced mushrooms
  • Diced green peppers
  • Thyme (to taste)
  • Cumin (to taste)
  • Oregano (to taste)
  • Chili Powder

I browned the meat as I outlined above with a little olive oil as well.  I added my onions next to soften them up.  Next I threw in my diced jalapenos and juice.  From here I turned the heat down to 200/Warm and added the rest.  Stir all the ingredients together and let the smells fill the house.

After I ran a quick errand in the early afternoon, I came home to find a suspicious looking ladle next to my concoction.  Turns out Haley, my 14 year old, had helped herself to my Primal fare.  Hmmm…that’s not usually like her…

“Geez, Dad,” she said, “it smelled so good, I had to try it.  It was tasty.  But it was pretty spicy!”

A distant voice in the other room belonging to my wife confirmed Haley’s findings.  My Primal Chili, was a resounding success in the household today.  I’ll bet it will be a success in yours as well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    March 1, 2010 2:15 pm

    Jeff- this is a bi-weekly staple of mine. I omit the jalapeno juice as it spices it up too much.

    For something slightly different, try a couple of cinnamon sticks and/or bay leaf. Subtle, but great flavor.

  2. March 2, 2010 12:37 am

    I am a crockpot master. My wife laughs about it, but the food id so good. Chicken tandori, or with pesto. Or chili. Coq au vin. And you are right, the leftovers make it.

Leave a Reply

