Skip to content

Grok On – For Better Health

March 4, 2010

Some days it seems like bad news is all over the place.  Luckily for me, it was just the opposite.

My favorite site, MarksDailyApple.com, released some pretty cool news today.  The topic of living and eating Primal/Paleo is popping up all over.  The message is getting out.  Mark Sisson, author of Primal Blueprint as well as MarksDailyApple.com, announced today that the site’s traffic is one of the top 5 in fitness.  This is due to not only the daily postings of Mark and his staff, but to the relevance of this topic.  The site never lacks for material and you can be sure to find many topics from Mark’s earlier postings or from the community that Mark has established.

In addition to the site, Mark’s first printing of Primal Blueprint sold out in December of 2009 and the second printing is out.  Over at Amazon, as of today’s numbers, the book is #4 in the Exercise & Fitness category, #11 in Weight Maintenance and #20 in the Weight Loss area.  Primal Blueprint has arrived – but I don’t believe for a second it has reached its peak.

I love Primal Blueprint and talking about Primal Blueprint.  Heck, I live Primal Blueprint – just ask my family.  When I got my t-shirt today (another great part of my good day), my wife said, “You mean to tell me cavemen live in California, too?!”  Little does she know that is where Mark and many other Primal folk live.  Wouldn’t she be interested to know that Mark’s followers are not only across the states, but across the world.  I’ve seen folks post from Austrlia, Ireland, Afghanistan and many other countries.  People are getting Primal and “Grokkin’ On” all over.  Perhaps even your neighbor…

The latest offerings from Mark’s camp are well timed and should really take things to the next level.  Primal Leap is the title of a package of goodies Mark looks to put out soon including a guidebook/journal, a Quick-Start 30 day guide to getting Primal, a much anticipated and the long awaited Primal Cookbook, a DVD, audiobook and a poster for extra inspiration and motivation.  I for one am very excited about this package of goodies and according to the post today, there is something guaranteed for everyone.

If you are new to this site or to the Primal Blueprint, please check out my book review here or do a search to find the other many postings I have categorized as Primal.  I hope they guide you to the same conclusion I have arrived at.  Living Primal is a highly functional plan that works for most anyone.

Final note:  I do not make any money by endorsing the Primal Blueprint or Mark’s site.  I wish I did, but I don’t.  I advocate for its utilization because I care.  And that’s how I roll.  My Grandfather died due to diabetes and obesity.  I don’t want to see another person go that route due to ignorance.  So for many years to come I want to spread the message of better health.
It’s interesting how modern day health can be improved by using age old practices.  And with the tools Mark and his team kick out, we can all get Primal, and in the best shape of our lives, without a mastodon in sight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 3:38 pm

    i dont know … this primal thing, while i am intrigued, seems soooooooooooo much like atkins, or south beach etc…i dont see any real differences from first research and reading…

    i know i am off the meat right now due to Lent, but in general i dont eat a lot of meat, only fish and turkey really…some chicken etc..and also i cant argue the fact that since i went to eating whole/clean food, with limited intake of meat, my weight has dropped, and i am leaner…

    need more data :o)

    • March 4, 2010 3:52 pm

      Great questions, Junie!

      Atkins is a LOW or no carb approach to eating. South Beach is a grain friendly approach with emphasis on whole grains. To put it succinctly, eating Primal/Paleo is about eating so as to moderate your insulin production. The best way to moderate your insulin is to stay away from grains and get your carbs from fruits or vegetables. The hope is to keep your carbs under 150 grams, but there are recommended lower levels for weight loss to be closer to 100. That’s a far cry from Atkins which I believe is closer to 25 grams recommended.
      By moderating your insulin, you steer clear of insulin insensitivity. Primal focuses on the quality of the food and the research shows how saturated fats from animals are not our enemy. The other pieces you’re mentioning – eating whole foods for the most part, moderating your ratio of Omega 3 to Omega 6 so you can avoid inflammation and many other Syndrome X diseases.

      If interested at all, check out MarksDailyApple.com and I think you’ll get hooked like I am.

      • March 5, 2010 7:52 am

        ok so well i got the carbs from fruits and veggies thing down pat because i dont eat a lot of pasta, rice etc…but i loooooooooooooooove my oats!

        i read his blog but sometimes it gets a bit ‘over my head’… :O)

      • March 5, 2010 11:06 am

        I can understand your perspective. Mark is a pretty educated guy with lots of info. That can translate into hard to understand info at times. His book is pretty good at explaining things. It just depends how much you want to know cuz he can get pretty deep. What that says to me is he knows his subject.
        Do you eat meat? Enjoy bacon? Ifo’so, going Primal is great for the body, the mind and the tastebuds!

Leave a Reply

